10 university chairs announced to honour eminent women

Each will be set up for 5 years to begin with

Updated - January 25, 2020 01:06 am IST

Published - January 25, 2020 12:15 am IST - NEW DELHI

M. S. Subbulakshmi. File

M. S. Subbulakshmi. File

The Ministry of Women and Child Development on Friday announced that it would set up 10 Chairs across different universities after eminent women administrators, artists, scientists and literatures to encourage women to pursue higher education and excel in their chosen fields.

A Chair in the field of administration will be named after late Ahilyabai Holkar, the Malwa queen known as a proficient ruler and an erudite politician.

Carnatic singer late M.S. Subbulakshmi will have a Chair named after her in the field of performing arts; activist, reformist and educator late Hansa Mehta will have a Chair in the field of education reforms.

The other fields include literature, medicine and health, forest or wildlife conservation, science, maths, poetry mysticism and freedom fighter.

According to the proposal, each Chair per year will be for ₹50 lakh and established for a period of 5 years to begin with.

The academic functions of the Chairs include engaging in research, strengthening the role of university in public policy making and designing and executing short-term capacity-building programmes for teachers in higher education.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.