5 Indian parliamentarians in Sri Lanka

April 09, 2013 07:28 pm | Updated November 17, 2021 12:37 am IST - Colombo

Five parliamentarians from India met Speaker of Sri Lankan Parliament Chamal Rajapaksa and External Affairs Minister G.L. Peiris here on Tuesday, it is reliably learnt.

They arrived on Monday night.

Sources in the Federation of Indian Chambers of Commerce and Industry (FICCI), which organised the trip, refused to divulge details of their agenda or the outcome of the meetings.

After spending the morning in Parliament, the delegation left for Jaffna to review projects supported by the Indian government, particularly the housing initiative.

The delegation comprised Saugata Roy (Trinamool Congress), Sandeep Dikshit (Congress), Anurag Thakur (BJP), Dhananjay Singh (BSP) and Prakash Javadekar (BJP).

Madhu Goud Yaskhi (Congress), who was also supposed to come, could not make it.

The FICCI sources attributed the cancellation of his trip to “party work ahead of Karnataka Assembly elections.”

The delegation is here to participate in ‘Track Two political dialogue’ between parliamentarians of the two countries.

Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.