Elinor Ostrom and Oliver Williamson share Nobel Economics

Updated - December 17, 2016 04:48 am IST

Published - October 12, 2009 04:42 pm IST - Stockholm

A computer screen showing the pictures of Elinor Ostrom and Oliver E. Williamson who won the Nobel Economic prize on Monday. Photo: AP

A computer screen showing the pictures of Elinor Ostrom and Oliver E. Williamson who won the Nobel Economic prize on Monday. Photo: AP

Americans Elinor Ostrom and Oliver Williamson won the Nobel Economics prize on Monday for their work in economic governance.

Ostrom was the first woman to win the prize since it was founded in 1968, and the fifth woman to win a Nobel award this year -- a Nobel record.

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences cited Ostrom “for her analysis of economic governance,” saying her work had demonstrated how common property can be successfully managed by groups using it.

Williamson, the academy said, developed a theory where business firms serve as structures for conflict resolution.

“Over the last three decades, these seminal contributions have advanced economic governance research from the fringe to the forefront of scientific attention,” the academy said.

The economics prize was the last Nobel award to be announced this year. It’s not one of the original Nobel Prizes, but was created by the Swedish central bank in Alfred Nobel’s memory.

Nobel Prize winners receive 10 million Swedish kronor ($1.4 million), a gold medal and diploma from the Swedish King on Dec. 10, the anniversary of Nobel’s death in 1896.

Last week, American scientists Elizabeth H. Blackburn, Carol W. Greider and Jack W. Szostak shared the Nobel Prize in medicine for discovering a key mechanism in the genetic operations of cells, an insight that has inspired new lines of research into cancer.

The physics prize was split between Charles K. Kao, who helped develop fiberoptic cable, and Americans Willard S. Boyle and George E. Smith who invented the “eye” in digital cameras.

Americans Venkatraman Ramakrishnan and Thomas Steitz and Ada Yonath of Israel shared the Chemistry prize for their atom-by-atom description of ribosomes.

Romanian-born German writer Herta Mueller won the literature prize and on Friday, President Barack Obama was named this year’s winner of the peace prize.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.