Five of 14 candidates backed by B.PAC win

May 09, 2013 09:10 am | Updated November 16, 2021 08:29 pm IST - BANGALORE:

Political punters do it. Now the newly formed Bangalore pressure group, Bangalore Political Action Committee (B.PAC), too can probably claim it can sniff out winners — or at least good runners-up.

Five of the 14 candidates the B.PAC rooted for have triumphed in the political sweepstakes for Bangalore.

The rest, including independents and first-time contestants, figure in the top three to five places in their respective constituencies: these places saw 10 to 12-cornered fights. It will be interesting to see how the group will engage its protagonists.

The task seems cut out for the five winners — Krishna Byre Gowda (Congress—Byatarayanapura); Dinesh Gundu Rao (Congress — Gandhi Nagar); S. Suresh Kumar (BJP – Rajajinagar); B.N. Vijaykumar (BJP – Jayanagar) and Ashwathnarayana C.N. (BJP –Malleswaram).

B.PAC, whose agenda is to improve Bangalore’s infrastructure, had expressed its conditional support — and partial finance — to 14 contestants from 12 constituencies regardless of their party affiliation. It said it had picked people with a clean record who would also work towards its vision for Bangalore.

Two Lok Satta Party candidates — Ashwin Mahesh and Meenakshi Bharath — polled the third highest number of votes in their respective constituencies, holding their own against party-backed warhorses.

They lost

B.PAC had also endorsed B.K. Chandrashekar (Basavangudi), Tejasvini Gowda (Bangalore South) and N.L. Narendra Babu (Mahalakshmi Layout) — who all lost.

Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.