Public felicitation to Ramakrishna Mutt today

Published - November 27, 2021 04:52 am IST - MANGALURU

A view of Sri Ramakrishna Mutt in Mangaluru.

A view of Sri Ramakrishna Mutt in Mangaluru.

The Swachh Mangaluru Foundation and others from the city will felicitate Ramakrisha Mutt, Mangaluru, today on account of it being conferred with the Amrutamahotsava Rajyotsava Award by the State government on November 1.

Ganesh Karnik, former MLC and foundation member, said, “This is the 75th year of Independence and the mutt was among the 10 organisations to receive the special Amrutamahotsava Rajyotsava award. It’s a coincidence that it has been conferred the award when it was in the 75th year of its operation in the city since June 1947.”

Apart from holding programmes to profess ideals of Swami Ramakrishna Paramahamsa and Swami Vivekananda, the Mutt in Mangaluru has been providing education to needy children. It took forward the call by the Belur Ramakrisha Mutt and actively promoted Swachh Bharath campaign in Mangaluru and other parts of Dakshina Kannada by holding Swachh Mangaluru weekly cleanliness drives through Ramakrishna Mission.

The Mission inspired more than 2,000 households in Mangaluru to adopt pot composting for processing wet kitchen waste in houses. It organised Swachh Manas and Swachh Soch programmes for the youth and was instrumental in forming Swachh Mangaluru Foundation, which holds cleanliness and other development programmes.

It also guided volunteers to establish the start-up, Mangala Resource Management Private Ltd., which was processing domestic solid waste in Uppinangady for 20 months. The start-up also runs a Material Recovery Facility at Nitte in Karkala taluk to process dry waste from 43 gram panchayats since six months. It also processes waste generated at the Kateel Durgaparameshwari Temple and Kukke Subrahmanya Temple. It has submitted detailed project report to Mangaluru City Corporation for handling the city’s solid waste, Mr. Karnik said.

“The felicitation on Saturday is to thank the mutt for its work for development of the twin districts,” Mr. Karnik said. Kannada and Culture Minister V. Sunil Kumar, MP Nalin Kumar Kateel, MLAs D.Vedavyas Kamath, Y. Bharath Shetty and U.T. Khader, Chancellor of Nitte Deemed to be University Vinay Hegde,will participate in the function, he said.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.