DMK huffs and puffs to win Tirupparankundram at last

Wins Assembly bypoll by a slender margin of 2,396 votes

May 24, 2019 09:48 am | Updated 09:48 am IST - MADURAI

Tight finish:  DMK’s P. Saravanan gets certificate of election from Returning Officer in Madurai on Thursday.

Tight finish: DMK’s P. Saravanan gets certificate of election from Returning Officer in Madurai on Thursday.

DMK wrestled Tirupparankundram Assembly constituency from AIADMK with a slender margin of 2,396 votes in the results of the recently concluded byelection declared on Thursday.

While DMK’s candidate P. Saravanan secured 85,434 votes, AIADMK’s S. Muniyandi finished a close second by securing 83,038 votes. Though Dr. Saravanan maintained a lead of around couple of thousand votes from the first round of counting, the fortunes seemed to change with the margin coming closer to just a few hundred votes.

However, Mr. Muniyandi could not overtake Dr. Saravanan as the counting progressed and the latter heaved a sigh of relief as the 22 rounds of counting of Electronic Voting Machine votes and postal ballots came to an end.

Tirupparankundram, which is perceived as a stronghold of AIADMK, was last won by DMK 23 years ago in the 1996 Assembly elections when there was a strong anti-incumbency against AIADMK that was in power. In the last byelection held for the constituency in November 2016, A.K. Bose of AIADMK defeated Dr. Saravanan by 42,670 votes.

Amma Makkal Munnetra Kazhagam’s (AMMK) I. Mahendran played spoilsport for AIADMK by securing 31,199 votes.

While Makkal Needhi Maiam’s P. Sakthivel secured 12,610 votes, Naam Tamilar Katchi’s R. Revathi polled 5,467 votes.

Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.