Telangana Assembly Election Results 2023 | Congress leads in Telangana; Revanth leads over KCR in Kamareddy

The exit polls conducted by various agencies had predicted a Congress win in Telangana

December 03, 2023 09:32 am | Updated 11:59 am IST - HYDERABAD

Officials are getting ready ahead of the counting the votes at AV College, Domalguda, which is one among the 49 counting centres across the state, in Hyderabad.

Officials are getting ready ahead of the counting the votes at AV College, Domalguda, which is one among the 49 counting centres across the state, in Hyderabad. | Photo Credit: G. Ramakrishna

As predicted by various surveys and exit polls, the Congress is leading in 64 seats compared to 42 seats of the Bharat Rashtra Samiti (BRS) in the Telangana Assembly election after three rounds of counting that began early on Sunday morning.

Also read: Telangana Assembly Election Results 2023 LIVE

Telangana Congress president A. Revanth Reddy is leading in Kamareddy over Chief Minister K. Chandrashekhar Rao after three rounds apart from his own constituency Kodangal. Mr. KCR is leading in the Gajwel constituency that he is representing in the Assembly at present.

All the Congress stalwarts, including Uttam Kumar Reddy (Huzurnagar), Komatireddy Venkata Reddy (Nalgonda), Bhatti Vikramarka (Madhira), D. Sreedhar Babu (Manthani), Tummala Nageshwara Rao (Khammam), Damodar Rajnarsimha (Andole), Vivek Venkatasamy (Chennur), Ponguleti Srinivas Reddy (Paleru) are leading.

The Congress is sweeping the entire Nalgonda and Khammam districts while it is doing quite well in the BRS-stronghold of Warangal and Nizamabad districts. The party is ahead in Mahabubangar district too but the BRS candidates are holding onto thin leads after three rounds.

Also Read | Telangana Assembly Elections 2023 | Survey predicts win for Congress, BRS to be main opposition

In the Hyderabad district, the ruling BRS is maintaining its strong presence leading in a majority of the constituencies while the Congress is faring poorly. This was expected, as the Congress lacks leadership with its entire senior leaders moving to the BRS since 2014.

Gains for BJP in north Telangana

The BJP seems to have gained considerably in north Telangana though their strong faces, including their MPs Bandi Sanjay and Dharmapuri Arvind who are contesting as MLAs, have not made much impact. The latest figures show that Mr. Arvind is trailing Korutla while Mr. Bandi Sanjay is giving tough time to Minister Gangula Kamalakar in Karimnagar. The surprise element for the BJP is its candidates putting up good show in Nizamabad urban, Nirmal, Mudhole and Armoor constituencies.

BJP candidates — Dhanpal Suryanarayana (Nizamabad urban), Paidi Rakesh Reddy (Armoor), Rama Rao Pawar (Mudhole) and Aleti Maheshwar Reddy (Nirmal) — are leading.

MIM ahead in seven constituencies

The MIM is maintaining its lead in seven constituencies but is trailing in Nampally where the Congress candidate Feroz Khan is leading according to the latest reports.

Eatala Rajender, who created a sensation by winning the Huzurabad bypoll after differences with the Chief Minister and getting sacked from the Cabinet, is trailing in Huzurabad. He is also trailing in Gajwel where he is contesting against Mr. KCR.

Several Ministers are trailing, including Puvvada Ajay Kumar, Indra Karan Reddy, Koppula Eashwar, Errabelli Dayakar Rao. Gangula Kamalakar are among those who are trailing. Municipal Minister and Mr. KCR’s son K.T. Rama Rao is leading in Sircilla constituency while Health Minister T. Harish Rao is leading with a massive margin, which is expected to be the highest in the State.

Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.