Chhattisgarh election results 2024 highlights: BJP wins ten seats; Congress holds on to one

BJP’s victory in the 2023 Assembly election has bolstered the party’s aspirations in Chhattisgarh

Updated - June 04, 2024 11:36 pm IST

Published - June 04, 2024 07:43 am IST

Chhattisgarh Lok Sabha election is a direct contest between the Bharatiya Janata Party and Congress. 

For Congress leader Bhupesh Baghel, the Lok Sabha election is a shot at redemption, after the loss in the 2023 Assembly election. He is contesting from Rajnandgaon, against incumbent candidate and BJP leader Santosh Pandey. He lost the seat by 44,411 votes. The party’s Jyotsna Charandas Mahant registered a win in Korba. 

Also read: Election Results 2024 LIVE updates

In the four General Elections in Chhattisgarh, the Congress’ best performance was in 2019 in which it won two out of the 11 seats in the State. The last time the Congress had won the Rajnandgaon seat was in the 2007 bypoll, about 17 years ago.

BJP had won nine out of 11 seats in Chhattisgarh in the 2019 Lok Sabha election. Seats like Bilaspur, Durg, Surguja and Raigarh have been with the BJP for the past couple of decades. 

Also read: General Election 2024: full schedule

The recent assembly election victory has boosted BJP’s power and this time around, it seemed more focused on Korba and Bastar (Scheduled Tribe) constituencies, where the Congress won in the last general election. 

The live blog is now closed.
  • June 04, 2024 15:22
    BJP dashes Bhupesh Baghel’s hopes for redemption in Chhattisgarh

    The 2024 general election was former Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel’s third attempt in a Lok Sabha election. The previous two attempts ended in failure. He was back on the trail, this time from Rajnandgaon, to redeem his name after the loss in the 2023 Assembly election. 

    Read more here

  • June 04, 2024 11:49
    BJP ahead in ten seats of Chhattisgarh, Congress holds on to one

    Congress candidates, including former Chief Minister of the State Bhupesh Baghel, are trailing in all but one constituencies. 

    Congress leader Jyotsna Charandas Mahant is leading in Korba by a narrow margin.

  • June 04, 2024 09:05
    BJP inches ahead of Congress in Chhattisgarh as early trends pour in

    BJP is leading in four constituencies -- Raigarh, Janjgir-Champa, Mahasamund, and Bastar.

    Congress candidate and former State Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel is leading in Rajnandgaon constituency in Chhattisgarh.

  • June 04, 2024 08:03
    Local dynamics play a major part in Chhattisgarh election

    Chhattisgarh will see its seven remaining seats out of a total 11 go to the polls in the third phase of the Lok Sabha election on May 7. In these constituencies, nationalism as a narrative has been dominant in these areas, but both the key players — BJP and Congress — have attempted to add more issues in the mix.

    Read more here

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.