Delhi 2020

Delhi Assembly Elections 2020 | Okhla, under which Shaheen Bagh and Jamia Nagar fall, votes for AAP

Voters wait for their turn at a polling station close to the Shaheen Bagh protest site in New Delhi on February 8, 2020.   | Photo Credit: AP

Aam Aadmi Party’s Amanatullah Khan retained the Okhla seat by over 70,000 votes.

In the initial trends, BJP’s Braham Singh was leading by 194 votes, but Mr. Khan later took a huge lead and is all set to retain the seat.

At the end of counting, Mr. Khan secured 13,0367 votes against Mr. Singh’s 58,540. The victory margin was 71,827. He won the seat by a margin of 64,532 votes in 2015.

The city’s Shaheen Bagh and Jamia Nagar fall under the Okhla constituency. Shaheen Bagh has become the epicentre of protest against the Citizenship Amendment Act) as women with young children have been on a sit-in protest there for nearly two months.

Less than 2 km away from Shaheen Bagh, Jamia Millia Islamia students with the support of Jamia Nagar locals have been holding protests against the CAA on the road outside the varsity.

Our code of editorial values

Related Topics
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jul 28, 2021 4:31:41 AM |

Next Story