TDP wins Uravakonda Assembly seat, last result to be declared

May 24, 2019 10:49 am | Updated 10:49 am IST - ANANTAPUR

The Telugu Desam Party won the Uravakonda Assembly constituency in Anantapur district in Andhra Pradesh from where the last result of the counting was declared in the early hours of Friday.

Telugu Desam candidate Payyavula Keshav won against YSR Congress Party candidate and sitting MLA Y. Visweswara Reddy by a margin of 2,132 votes.

The counting process was delayed due to trouble from EVMs and slips from VVPATs had to be counted and the result was declared at 5 a.m. on Friday.

There is a sentiment that whichever party wins from this seat does not form the government and the coincidence continued in this election. In 2014 elections,YSRCP candidate Mr. Visweswara had won from Uravakonda.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.