Party releases fifth list of candidates for 56 Lok Sabha seats in eight States

The Aam Aadmi Party has fielded former IPS officer Suresh Khopade from Baramati, which has NCP leader Sharad Pawar’s daughter Supriya Sule as the sitting MP. Ms. Sule is likely to be re-nominated by her party.

The AAP’s list of 56 candidates for the Lok Sabha elections released on Wednesday includes 17 from Maharashtra, nine from Uttar Pradesh, eight from Bihar, seven from Madhya Pradesh, six each from Kerala and Assam, two from Gujarat and one from Himachal Pradesh.

Kamal Kant Batra, mother of Kargil martyr, Vikram Batra, will contest from Hamirpur, a seat currently held by Anurag Thakur — BJP MP and son of the former Chief Minister Prem Kumar Dhumal. Sanjay Apranti, another IPS officer from the Maharsahtra State service, will contest from Raigad, a seat currently held by Shiv Sena MP Anant Gite.

Former journalist and writer Anita Pratap will contest from Ernakulum, which has Union Minister of State K.V. Thomas as the sitting MP.

A new entrant to the party, Geeta Arya, who was formerly with the Janata Dal (United), will contest from Sasaram, a seat currently held by Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar. With this, AAP has declared candidates for 187 Lok Sabha constituencies.

More In: National | News