LOk Sabha Elections 2014 Other States

AAP names candidates for the two LS seats in Goa

While announcing its candidates for both the Parliamentary constituencies in Goa for the coming polls, the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), also declared its unambiguous stand on Goa mining issue, opposing private sector mining in the State and demanding action against all those who were hitherto involved in illegal mining.

The party declared the names of Dr. Dattaram Desai for north and Ms. Swati Kerkar for south. Both are environmental and social activists and were present at a press conference at the AAP Goa office here on Wednesday. Both openly declared that the AAP will not accept any election money from mining companies in Goa.

The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party was way ahead in declaring its candidates. It has named Law Commission chairman Narendra Sawaikar for south Goa and three-time MP of the BJP Sripad Naik for the north Goa seat. Both are staunch cadre-based men of the BJP.

With its alliance with the Nationalist Congress Party tottering, the Congress is scheduled to finalise its candidates in Delhi on Wednesday late evening for the Lok Sabha election which is scheduled for April 12.

On wednesday, AAP further stated that iron ore mining in Goa should be undertaken by the State-owned body and openly opposed mining that was left to the benefit of a few rich families. Money from this State resource must be utilized for the benefit of the people through a special permanent fund, it said.

On illegal mining, which led to the prevailing mining ban following an interim order of the Supreme Court, the AAP declared that proceeds from the sale of illegally extracted ore e-auctions should be set aside to create a 'one-time' Rehabilitation Fund and utilised to provide relief to all mining dependents.

AAP's Oscar Rebello hailed NGOs like Goa Foundation and others which are relentlessly fighting the illegal mining as "real heroes" who struggle to save Goa from complete disaster. The AAP vowed to stand by these NGOs, activists and by all the marginalized sections of Goan society including all mining dependent stakeholders who suffered in illegal mining and consequent mining ban.

Mr. Nilkant Gawas, president of All Goa Truck-Owners' Association backed AAP's stand.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jan 17, 2022 10:37:45 PM | https://www.thehindu.com/news/national/other-states/aap-names-candidates-for-the-two-ls-seats-in-goa/article5777442.ece

Next Story