AAP to take on Ministers, party chiefs in LS polls

Prominent names on first list of candidates

February 16, 2014 06:25 pm | Updated December 04, 2021 11:26 pm IST - New Delhi

Declaring its intention to go all out for the Lok Sabha elections, the Aam Aadmi Party on Sunday released its first list of 20 candidates.

The AAP has pitted Kumar Vishwas against Rahul Gandhi in Amethi, Medha Patkar against NCP State president Sanjay Dina Patil in Mumbai Northeast, journalist Ashutosh against Kapil Sibal in Chandni Chowk and senior lawyer H.S. Phoolka against Congress Minister Manish Tewari in Ludhiana.

Other candidates on the list will fight it out against political party leaders including Salman Khurshid, Milind Deora, Suresh Kalmadi, Subhash Yadav, Mohammad Azaruddin (all Congress); Nitin Gadkari (BJP); Mulayam Singh (Samajwadi Party); and Ajit Singh (Rashtriya Lok Dal).

Activist Anjali Damania will contest from Nagpur against Mr. Gadkari; farmer leader Somendra Dhaka will take on RLD chief Ajit Singh from Baghpat and activist Hardev Singh has been given the ticket in Samajwadi Party leader Mulayam Singh’s stronghold, Mainpuri in Uttar Pradesh.

Former journalist Mukul Tripathi will contest the Farukhabad seat in Uttar Pradesh held by External Affairs Minister Salman Khurshid and Maharashtra Sewa Dal member Subhash Ware will contest the Pune constituency held by Suresh Kalmadi.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.