Anil Khanna elected AITA President

Anil Khanna was today elevated to the post of All India Tennis Association President, replacing Yashwant Singh who stepped down after 12 years at the helm.

Khanna, who was the AITA Secretary General so far, was unanimously elected to the top job during the body’s Annual General Meeting here.

Khanna was replaced by Bharat Oza, who was elected the executive vice-president and secretary-general for a four-year term.

Among other new office-bearers was C S Sunder Raju - joint secretary - and Raktim Sikia - the treasurer.

Khanna said a new code of conduct would be initiated in a bid to “bring focus and discipline” in the Davis Cup squad.

“We want to limit the entourage. The senior players bring their own personal trainers and coaches for Davis Cup matches, but we would like to have one captain, one coach, one doctor and possibly two trainers so as to bring focus and discipline in the squad,” said Khanna.

AITA’s elected office-bearers were:

Vice-Presidents: Chintan Parikh, Deepender Hooda, Dalbir Singh, Jawahar Sircar, Karti P. Chidambaram, M.A. Alagappan, Narendra Kumar, Pratyush Sinha, Mrs. Praveen Mahajan and Rajan Kashyap.

Executive Committee: Hironmoy Chatterjee (Bengal), A.B.

Prasad (Bihar), Asit Tripathy (Orissa), T.D. Francis (Kerala), C.B.N. Reddy (Tamil Nadu), Sharad Kannamwar (Maharashtra), Anil Dhupar (Madhya Pradesh), Suman Kapur (Haryana), C.P.

Kacker (Uttar Pradesh), V.K. Batra (Delhi) and Ashok Kumar (Andhra Pradesh).

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jun 21, 2021 7:19:59 PM |

Next Story