Other Sports

Eastern Rly. in cruise mode

On the prowl: Libina of Eastern Railway is all set to score against Telangana.  

Eastern Railway trounced Telangana 64-22 in their opening women’s Group B match of the Federation Cup basketball championships at the Chittoor District Sports Authority stadium on Tuesday. At half-time, the defending champion led 33-20.

Experience separated the two sides, the Railway women tested to some extent in the first two quarters but breezing through the next two. Telangana buckled and caved in tamely, especially in the latter half, when the Railway women resorted to the full court press.

With each quarter, the Telangana girls seemed to tire, the margins widening steadily as the game progressed. Their passing was poor, pounced upon by Railways’ agile and alert attack. When they did manage to penetrate the rival D, Eastern Railway effected steals and set off on fast breaks. Capitalising on these turnarounds was Railways’ Salma Devi.

In the concluding quarter, the speedy winger found the hoop from a near solo run and minutes from the close scored from outside the semi-circle. Her own — and her fellow shooters’ — task was made easier with Telangana leaving its half largely untended, steadily running out of steam when they should have regrouped in defence.

Railways’ point-guard Sushila Ekka also sneaked in unnoticed, slipping the ball into the net off a drive-in basket and also unleashing a three-pointer later. In the closing moments, when Eastern Railway was at its dominating best, Vimmy Varkey also fired home a long-ranger.

International Eudrick Pereira’s 21, complemented by Manoj’s 11, including a trio of three-pointers, and Shinumon’s 13 helped Customs and Central Excise (Kochi) subdue Sports Authority of Andhra Pradesh 70-62.

Pradyumna P.S., IAS, Collector and District Magistrate, inaugurated the championship. The opening day’s schedule was thrown out of gear owing to rain.

The results:

Men: Group A: Customs & Central Excise 70 (Eudrick Pereira 21, Manoj 11, Shinumon 13) bt SAAP 62 (Naveen Kumar 14, I.B.P.C.H. Varma 12, V.M. Sagar 12). Women: Group B: Eastern Railway 64 (Salma Devi 15, Madhu Kumari 10) bt Telangana 22.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | May 15, 2021 2:38:40 PM | https://www.thehindu.com/sport/other-sports/eastern-rly-in-cruise-mode/article23741059.ece

Next Story