AICF elections: Chauhan faction unseats Raja

Sanjay Kapoor elected president by narrowest of margins after switching sides

January 05, 2021 04:51 am | Updated 04:51 am IST - NEW DELHI

Bringing an end to an imbroglio lasting over a year and a half in the All India Chess Federation (AICF), Bharat Singh Chauhan and his supporters trounced outgoing president P. R. Venketrama Raja’s panel 12-3 in the online elections held on Monday.

Madras High Court-appointed returning officer K. Kannan announced the results and brought the curtain down on the bitter, closely contested elections.

Chauhan gained another term as the secretary by beating his old-time companion Ravindra Dongre 34-29.

Narrow win

Sanjay Kapoor, who entered the fray for the post of the president at the last minute after switching sides, defeated Raja by the narrowest of margins, 33-31, after all 64 votes were polled.

For the post of the treasurer, Naresh Sharma received 34 votes to dethrone Kishor M. Bandekar, who got 30.

Riding on the solidarity shown by the North-Eastern states, among other factors, the Chauhan faction won five out of the six posts for vice presidents and four out of the six for joint secretaries.

Significantly, in response to an appeal made by Chauhan, on Monday morning, Kannan ensured the voters got an on-screen confirmation of the choices made by them.

As a result, the voter can retain the image of the on-screen confirmation for future reference, if needed.

Now the results will be submitted by the returning officer to the Madras High Court.

Final results:

President: Sanjay Kapoor.

Vice-presidents: D.P. Anantha, Bhavesh Patel, Vipnesh Bharadwaj, Ajay Ajmera, P.C. Lalianthanga and Niapung Konia.

Secretary: Bharat Singh Chauhan.

Joint-secretaries: R. Rajesh, Mahendra Dhakal, Atul Kumar, Mughaho Awomi, Diljeet Khanna and Atanu Lahiri.

Treasurer: Naresh Sharma .

Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.