Pakistan vs South Africa | South Africa bowlers strike back

Reduce Pakistan to 34 for four after getting bowled out for 220

January 26, 2021 09:59 pm | Updated 10:10 pm IST - Karachi

Rattled: Abid Ali is beaten for pace by a Rabada delivery.

Rattled: Abid Ali is beaten for pace by a Rabada delivery.

Pakistan spinners Yasir Shah and Nauman Ali took five wickets between them as South Africa was bowled out for 220 all out, but the home side faltered in reply to end the day at 33 for four on the first day of the first test here on Tuesday.

Azhar Ali and Fawad Alam were both unbeaten on five and will resume on the second morning on a wicket already producing both turn and variable bounce, suggesting the visitors' modest first innings score could be par.

Big blow

In a major blow for the home side, captain Babar Azam (7) was trapped leg-before by spinner Keshav Maharaj just before stumps.

South African fast bowler Kagiso Rabada (two for eight) sent back the Pakistan openers when he bowled Abid Ali (4) and then had debutant Imran Butt (9) caught at short-leg from a vicious rising delivery.

Anrich Nortje then picked up the wicket of Shaheen Shah Afridi (0) with a full delivery, only the fourth ball the hapless nightwatchman had faced.

South Africa was in many ways the architects of its own downfall with the bat, having won the toss in its first test in Pakistan since 2007.


They had two run outs in the top six, while captain Quinton de Kock (15) gave his wicket away with a wild swing across the line to left-arm spinner Nauman (two for 38), who is playing in his first Test at the age of 34.

Opener Dean Elgar (58) was the top-scorer and looked in control until he drove at a wide delivery from Nauman and was caught at slip.

Rassie van der Dussen and Temba Bavuma were both run out, while Yasir (three for 54) picked up the key wicket of of Faf du Plessis (23), who edged to wicketkeeper Mohammad Rizwan.

South Africa had initially included Tabraiz Shamsi as a third spinner in its line-up but he suffered lower back pain in the warm-up and was replaced by seamer Lungi Ngidi.


South Africa 1st innings

D. Elgar c Azam b Nauman 58

A. Markram c Butt b Shaheen 13

R. van der Dussen run out 17

F. du Plessis c Rizwan b Yasir 23

Q. de Kock c Butt b Nauman 15

T. Bavuma run out 17

G. Linde c sub (Nawaz) b Hasan 35

K. Maharaj b Yasir 0

K. Rabada not out 21

A. Nortje b Yasir 0

L. Ngidi lbw b Shaheen 8

Extras (b5, lb1, nb7) 13

Total (69.2 overs, all out) 220

Fall of wickets: 1-30 (Markram), 2-63 (Dussen), 3-108 (du Plessis), 4-133 (de Kock), 5-136 (Elgar), 6-179 (Bavuma), 7-179 (Maharaj), 8-194 (Linde), 9-195 (Nortje)

Bowling: Shaheen 11.2-0-49-2 (3nb), Hasan 14-5-61-1 (2nb), Ashraf 5-0-12-0, Nauman 17-4-38-2 (1nb), Yasir 22-6-54-3 (1nb)

Pakistan 1st innings

Imran Butt c Bavuma b Rabada 9

Abid Ali b Rabada 4

Azhar Ali not out 5

Babar Azam lbw b Maharaj 7

Shaheen Shah Afridi b Nortje 0

Fawad Alam not out 5

Extras (nb3) 3

Total (18 overs, four wickets) 33

To bat: Mohammad Rizwan, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Nauman Ali, Yasir Shah

Fall of wicket: 1-5 (Abid), 2-15 (Butt), 3-26 (Azam), 4-27 (Shaheen)

Bowling: Rabada 6-3-8-2 (nb2), Nortje 7-2-20-1, Ngidi 3-0-5-0 (1nb), Maharaj 2-2-0-1.


Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.