ISRO gets Indira Gandhi Prize for 2014

The Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) was on Thursday presented with the Indira Gandhi Prize for Peace, Disarmament and Development for the year 2014. The prize was presented to ISRO Chairman A.S. Kiran Kumar by former Prime Minister and Indira Gandhi Memorial Trust (IGMT) trustee Dr. Manmohan Singh.

The ISRO was selected for the prize in 2014 by a jury headed by Vice-President Hamid Ansari. It consists of a trophy made of banded Haematite Jasper, with a portrait of the late Prime Minister Indira Gandhi in Jaipur miniature paintings, a cash award of ₹1 crore and a citation, the IGMT said in a statement.

The citation read: “The International Jury… awarded the prize in recognition of its path-breaking achievements, culminating in the Mars Orbiter Mission and its contributions in strengthening international cooperation...”

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Apr 11, 2021 11:50:13 PM |

Next Story