Tripura to go to the polls on Feb. 18, Meghalaya and Nagaland on Feb. 27

Chief Election Commissioner A K Joti. File

Chief Election Commissioner A K Joti. File   | Photo Credit: PTI

Counting of votes in the States will be held on March 3, says Chief Election Commissioner A.K. Joti.

 The Assembly elections in Tripura will be held on February 18, while Meghalaya and Nagaland will go to the polls on February 27. Counting in all the three States will be held on March 3.

The notification for the Tripura elections will be issued on January 24. The nominations can be filed till January 31. 

In Nagaland and Meghalaya, the notification will be issued on January 31, while the last date for filing of nominations is February 7.

Announcing the election schedules, Chief Election Commissioner A.K. Joti said that more than 25.69 lakh people in Tripura, 11.89 lakh in Nagaland and 18.30 lakh in Meghalaya were eligible to vote. 

The three Assemblies have 60 members each. 

The terms of the Meghalaya, Nagaland and Tripura Houses are ending on March 6, March 13 and March 14 respectively.

The Commission said that voter-verifiable paper audit trail (VVPAT) devices would be used along with the electronic voting machines at all the polling stations in the three States. 

The paper trail units from one polling station in each Assembly constituency will be selected randomly for counting of paper slips to verify the results. 

The BJP is trying to make inroads in these three States, while the Congress and the Left are seeking to retain their foothold.

Why you should pay for quality journalism - Click to know more

Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Mar 31, 2020 7:53:43 PM |

Next Story