AIADMK, the story so far

Sasikala faction is 'AIADMK Amma' and OPS' 'AIADMK Puratchi Thalaivi Amma'

T.T.V. Dhinakaran before filing his nomination in Chennai.

T.T.V. Dhinakaran before filing his nomination in Chennai.

A day after the Election Commission froze the AIADMK party symbol for the R.K. Nagar by-poll in Chennai scheduled for April 12, the electoral body on Thursday allotted new names and symbols to the V.K Sasikala and O. Panneerselvam factions.

As directed by the EC, the rival groups submitted their proposals for new names and symbols on Thursday morning. The Sasikala camp requested the name “All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (Amma)” and the “Hat” as its election symbol.

The Panneerselvam group requested “All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (Puratchi Thalaivi Amma) and the “Electric Pole” as its symbol.

The Commission then issued directions allotting the respective names and the symbols to the two groups.

Armed with the EC order, Mr Dhinakaran, sporting a hat, filed his nomination for the byelection. “I will definitely win in the by-election by a victory margin of several thousand votes,” he told journalists and reiterated that the AIADMK (Amma) would eventually be identified as the real AIADMK and retrieve the ‘Two Leaves’ symbol.


Mr Madhusudhanan, who filed his nomination as the AIADMK (Puratchi Thalaivi Amma) candidate, said, “People of R.K. Nagar constituency love O. Panneerselvam and me. They see him as a righteous and simple man. Since I am contesting as his candidate, I definitely have the chances to emerge victorious.”

Mr Madshusdhanan was elected from the constituency in 1991.

Our code of editorial values

Related Topics
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Sep 24, 2022 1:56:15 pm |