Tamil Nadu

Palaniswami cracks whip, expels Panneerselvam's sons from AIADMK

O. Panneerselvam’s son and Lok Sabha member Raveendranath.

O. Panneerselvam’s son and Lok Sabha member Raveendranath.

AIADMK interim general secretary Edappadi K Palaniswami on Thursday expelled two sons of former Chief Minister and expelled leader O Panneerselvam, including the party’s lone Lok Sabha MP from Theni P.Ravindhranath, and 16 other functionaries from the party’s primary membership for allegedly indulging in “anti-party activities”.

Mr. Panneerselvam’s other son V.P. Jayapradeep and former Minister Vellamandi N. Natarajan were among those expelled.

Former legislators V.N.P. Venkatraman, R.T. Ramachandran, M.G.M. Subramanian, Omsakthi Sekar and Saidai M.M. Babu and former MPs R. Gopalakrishnan and S.P.M. Syed Khan were also expelled.

AIADMK spokespersons Kovai Selvaraj and Marudu Azhaguraj and functionaries S.A. Asokan, Amman P. Vairamuthu, D. Ramesh, B. Vinubalan, Kolathur D. Krishnamoorthy and S.R. Anjulakshmi were also expelled.

In a statement, Mr. Palaniswami said their actions were contradictory to the party’s principles and objectives, against party’s rules, and they acted in a manner disturbing the order in the party and brought disrepute to the party.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Aug 25, 2022 11:49:25 pm | https://www.thehindu.com/news/national/tamil-nadu/palaniswami-cracks-whip-expels-panneerselvams-sons-from-aiadmk/article65640066.ece