Nominations open for Lok Sabha polls in Tamil Nadu

March 29, 2014 03:19 pm | Updated November 16, 2021 10:03 pm IST - Chennai

Congress candidate Mani Shankar Aiyar files his nomination for Mayiladuthurai constituency at Mayiladuthurai on Saturday.

Congress candidate Mani Shankar Aiyar files his nomination for Mayiladuthurai constituency at Mayiladuthurai on Saturday.

Former Union Minister Mani Shankar Aiyar and anti-nuclear activist S.P. Udaya Kumar were among 63 persons who filed nomination papers on Saturday, when nominations opened for the April 24 Lok Sabha elections in Tamil Nadu and Puducherry.

Contesting for the seventh time from Mayiladuthurai, Mr. Aiyar, a sitting member of the Rajya Sabha, filed his nomination at the Sub Collector’s office at Mayiladuthurai on Saturday, while Mr. Udayakumar, fielded by the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), presented his papers to Kanyakumari Election Officer, S.Nagarajan. Mr. Udayakumar’s colleague in the anti-nuclear movement, M. Pushparayan of the AAP filed his papers in Tuticorin.

Apart from two candidates fielded by the Communist Party of India (Marxist) — sitting MP P.R. Natarajan and B. Vikraman — in Coimbatore and Madurai constituencies, most of the remaining contestants were either independents or members of lesser-known parties.

Mr. Aiyar told the media that even after his defeat in the 2009 Lok Sabha elections, he had continued to spend funds under the Member of Parliament Local Area Development Scheme for over 600 panchayats in his constituency, transcending political affiliations. Mr. Vikraman emphasised the need for providing job opportunities for the 18 lakh unemployed persons in the southern districts.

In Madurai, transgender activist Bharathi Kannamma, who was one of the independents who submitted their papers, highlighted the cause of the transgender community. In Tuticorin, P. Murugan, an auto-rickshaw driver, handed over the papers to the official concerned as a nominee of the ‘Save Bahujan Movement’.

In three constituencies of Chennai, nine persons submitted nominations. In South Chennai, ‘Traffic’ K.R. Ramaswamy was one of the independents to present the papers.

In Sriperumpudur, District Revenue Officer and Returning Officer there M.Sambathkumar received four nominations while no one had filed nominations for the Kancheepuram (SC) Lok Sabha constituency.

Top News Today


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.