Full list of Tamil Nadu Cabinet and Council of Ministers

Here is the full list of ministers in the Tamil Nadu government and the portfolios they are holding as on May 11, 2023.

May 06, 2021 04:38 pm | Updated May 11, 2023 11:34 am IST

Dravida Munnetra Kazhgam (DMK) legislator T.R.B. Rajaa was sworn in as a Minister in the Tamil Nadu Cabinet on Thursday, May 11, 2023 morning. Governor R.N. Ravi administered the oaths of office and secrecy to Mr. Rajaa at a ceremony in the Raj Bhavan in Chennai attended by Chief Minister M K Stalin and others.

With the recent sacking of Milk and Dairy Development Minister Nasar, the strength of the State Cabinet remains the same at 35.

Mr. Rajaa, a third-time MLA from Mannargudi constituency is also the son of DMK treasurer and party’s floor leader in the Lok Sabha, T.R. Baalu. He has been made the Minsiter for Industries.

Here is the full list of ministers in the Tamil Nadu government and the portfolios they are holding.

  • M.K. StalinChief Minister — Public, General Administration, Indian Administrative Service, Indian Police Service, Other All India Service, District Revenue Officers, Police, Home, Special Initiatives, Special Programme Implementation, Welfare of Differently abled persons.

  • DuraimuruganMinister for Water Resources — Irrigation Projects including small Irrigation, Legislative Assembly, Governor and Ministry, Elections and Passports, Minerals and Mines.

  • K.N. NehruMinister for Municipal Administration — Municipal Administration, Urban and Water Supply

  • I. PeriyasamyMinister for Rural Development — Rural Development, Panchayats, and Panchayat Union

  • K. PonmudyMinister for Higher Education — Higher Education including Technical Education, Electronics, Science and Technology

  • E.V. VeluMinister for Public Works — Public Works (Buildings, Highways and Minor Ports)

  • M.R.K. PanneerselvamMinister for Agriculture and Farmer’s Welfare — Agriculture, Agricultural Engineering, Agro Service Co-operatives, Horticulture, Sugarcane Excise, Sugarcane Development and Waste Land Development

  • K.K.S.S.R RamachandranMinister for Revenue and Disaster Management — Revenue, District Revenue Establishment, Deputy Collectors, Disaster Management

  • Thangam ThennarasuMinister for Finance, Planning, Human Resources Management, Pensions an Pensionary benefits, Statistics adn Archaelogy.

    Palanivel Thiaga Rajan - Minister forInformationTechnology & Digital Services

  • Udhayanidhi StalinMinister for Youth Welfare and Sports Development — Youth Welfare, Sports Development, Special Programme Implementation Department & Poverty Alleviation Programme and Rural Indebtedness

  • S. ReghupathyMinister for Law — Law, Courts, Prisons and Prevention of Corruption

  • S. MuthusamyMinister for Housing and Urban Development — Housing, Rural Housing, Town Planning Projects and Housing Development, Accommodation Control, Urban Planning and Urban Development

  • K.R. PeriakaruppanMinister for Co-operation — Co-operation

  • T.M. AnbarasanMinister for Rural Industries — Rural Industries including cottage industries, small Industries, Slum Clearance Board

  • M.P. SaminathanMinister for Tamil Official Language and Tamil Culture, Information & Publicity, Film Technology and Cinematograph Act, Newsprint

    Control, Stationery and Printing, Government Press

  • P. Geetha JeevanMinister for Social Welfare & Women Empowerment — Women and Children Welfare including Social Welfare, Orphanages and Correctional Administration, Integrated Child Development Scheme and Beggar Homes and Social Reforms & Nutritious Meal Programme

  • Anitha R. RadhakrishnanMinister for Fisheries, Fishermen Welfare and Animal Husbandry — Fisheries and Fisheries Development Corporation and Animal Husbandry

  • R.S. Raja KannappanMinister for Backward Classes Welfare — Backward Classes Welfare, Most Backward Classes Welfare, Denotified Communities Welfare and Khadi & Village Industries Board

  • K. RamachandranMinister for Tourism — Tourism and Tourism Development Corporation

  • R. SakkarapaniMinister for Food and Civil Supplies — Food and Civil Supplies, Consumer Protection and Price Control

  • V. SenthilbalajiMinister for Electricity, Prohibition and Excise — Electricity, Non Conventional Energy Development, Prohibition and Excise, Molasses

  • R. GandhiMinister for Handlooms and Textiles — Handlooms and Textiles, Boodhan and Gramadhan

  • Ma. SubramanianMinister for Medical and Family Welfare — Health, Medical Education and Family Welfare

  • P. MoorthyMinister for Commercial Taxes and Registration — Commercial Taxes, Registration and Stamp Act, Weights and Measures, Debt Relief including legislation on Money lending, Chits and Registration of Companies

  • S.S. SivasankarMinister for Backward Classes Welfare — Backward Classes Welfare, Most Backward Classes Welfare and Denofied Communities Welfare

  • P.K. SekarbabuMinister for Hindu Religious and Charitable Endowments — Hindu Religious, Charitable Endowments and CMDA

    T.R.B. Rajaa - Minister for Industries

  • Gingee K.S. MasthanMinister for Minorities Welfare and Non-Resident Tamils Welfare — Minorities Welfare, Non-Resident Tamils Welfare, Refugees & Evacuees and Wakf Board

  • Anbil Mahesh PoyyamozhiMinister for School Education — School Education

  • Siva. V. MeyyanathanMinister for Environment and Climate Change — Environment and pollution control and Ex-Servicemen

  • C.V. GanesanMinister for Labour Welfare and Skill Development — Labour Welfare, Population, Employment and Training, Census, Urban and Rural Employment

  • T. Mano ThangarajMinister for Milk & Dairy Development

  • M. MathiventhanMinister for Forests — Forests

  • N. Kayalvizhi SelvarajMinister for Adi Dravidar Welfare — Adi Dravidar Welfare, Hill Tribes and Bonded Labour Welfare

Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.