Tamil Nadu

First session of 15th Tamil Nadu Assembly on May 25

In this May 21, 2016 photo, the Tamil Nadu Assembly Hall is being spruced up to welcome the new members.   | Photo Credit: M_PRABHU

The first session of the 15th Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly will begin on May 25, 2016.

The session will begin with Protem Speaker S. Semmalai administering oath of office to 232 new members.

The election of new Speaker and Deputy Speaker will take place on June 3, 2016.

In the 234-member House, the AIADMK has a strength of 134 members while the main Opposition DMK 89, the Congress eight and the IUML one.

Election to two seats — Aravakkurichi and Thanjavur — have been postponed and will now be held on June 13, 2016.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Oct 16, 2021 11:21:56 AM | https://www.thehindu.com/news/national/tamil-nadu/first-session-of-15th-tamil-nadu-assembly-on-may-25/article8637416.ece

Next Story