As it happened: Jayalalithaa swearing-in

Liquor outlets to open at 12 noon and close at 10 p.m.; 100 units of free power from today

May 23, 2016 10:44 am | Updated November 29, 2021 01:25 pm IST - Chennai

Governor K. Rosaiah greets Chief Minister Jayalalithaa after the swearing-in ceremony in Chennai on Monday.  Photo: R. Ragu

Governor K. Rosaiah greets Chief Minister Jayalalithaa after the swearing-in ceremony in Chennai on Monday. Photo: R. Ragu

AIADMK general secretary Jayalalithaa was sworn in as Tamil Nadu Chief Minister by Governor K. Rosaiah at the Madras University’s Centenary Hall on Monday. Twenty-eight others were sworn in as her Cabinet colleagues.

Shortly after assuming office as Chief Minister for a record sixth time, Ms Jayalalithaa signed a file reducing the business hours of the State-run liquor outlets managed by the Tamil Nadu State Marketing Corporation (TASMAC) by two hours daily. Effective Tuesday, these shops will open for business only at noon and not at 10 a.m. earlier, and close as usual at 10 p.m. >Read more..

Fulfilling another electoral promise, she signed a file providing for 100 units of free electricity for all households with immediate effect. “This would annually cost the exchequer Rs. 1,607 crore,” an official release stated.

Ms. Jayalalithaa signed five files on Monday, the release added.

Here are the live updates:

4.30 pm: Semmalai being sworn in as pro-tem Speaker of Tamil Nadu Assembly. Governor K Rosaiah administered the oath of office and secrecy to Semmalai, elected from Mettur in Salem, at a ceremony in Raj Bhavan here.Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa was present on the occasion.

01:05 pm: Jayalalithaa orders the implementation of five schemes on her first day of assuming office :

--> TASMAC shops to open only at 12 noon and not at 10 a.m. earlier, and close as usual at 10 p.m. Five hundred retail shops to be closed.

--> 100 units of free power from today

--> Waiver of crop loans for farmers.

--> Eight gram gold to women for mangalsutra.

01:00 pm: The new Chief Minister takes the first step towards fulfilling her electoral promise of phased prohibition in the State.

12:43 pm: Ms. Jayalalithaa is likely to meet senior IAS and IPS officers soon.

12:42 pm: During her campaign, Ms.Jayalalithaa had promised phased prohibition, 50% subsidy for scooters for two-wheelers, Amma Bank card and Amma Venture Capital Fund to help entrepreneurs. >All eyes are on the welfare schemes now.

12:35 pm: Chief Minister Jayalalithaa reaches the Secretariat.

12:30 pm: Prime Minister Narendra Modi tweets out his congratulations to Ms.Jayalalithaa and Ministers. "Centre will work closely with new Govt. for progress of TN." he said. Mr. Modi is now in Iran for talks to deepen trade, investment and energy ties.

12:22 pm: The swearing-in ceremony ends.

12:20 pm: The new Cabinet has two professional doctors, three lawyers, and six post-graduates. The newly-inducted Cabinet Ministers take a group photograph with the Chief Minister.

12:16 pm: The new Cabinet has four women, including Ms.Jayalalithaa.

12: 15 pm: Udumalai Radhakrishnan, Dr.C.VijayaBhaskar, Duraikannu, Kadambur Raju, R.B.Udayakumar, Rajenthra Bhalaji, K.V.Veeramani, P.Benjamin, Vellamandi N.Natarajan, S.Valarmathi, V.M.Rajalakshmi, Dr.Manikandan, M.R.Vijayabhaskar sworn in as Ministers en masse. >Who holds which portfolio?

12:10 pm: The new Ministers take the oath of secracy en masse.

12:07 pm: O. Panneerselvam, P.Thangamani, S.P.Velumani, Dindigal Srinivasan, Edapadi Palanisamy, C.V.Shanmuhgam, K.P.Anbazhagan, P. Saroja, K.C.Karupannan, M.C.Sampath,R. Kamaraj, O.S. Manian take the oath of office of Ministers. >Who holds which portfolio?

12:06 pm: Ms. Jayalalithaa takes the oath of secrecy.

12:05 pm: Amidst loud applause, Jayalalithaa takes the oath of office in the name of God.

12:04 pm: Swearing-in ceremony of the 15th TN Assembly begins.

12:03 pm: After the national anthem, Tamil Thaai Vazhthu is sung.

12:02 pm: Jayalalithaa introduces the Minister-designates to the Governor.

12:00 pm: Governor K.Rosaiah enters the hall. CM-designate Jayalalithaa welcomes him by presenting him with a bouquet.

11:58 am: Union Ministers Pon. Radhakrishnan and Venkaiah Naidu are taking part in the swearing-in ceremony. Incidentally, Pon.Radhakrishnan won the Kanyakumari Lok Sabha constituency defeating AIADMK. Deputy Speaker Thambidurai is also present.

11:56 am: Ms. Jayalalithaa holds the distinction of being the second person in the State to hold the CM office consecutively.

11:48 am: AIADMK supporters throng the roads of Chennai as Ms.Jayalalithaa's motorcade passes through.

11:45 am: DMK treasurer and newly elected MLA M.K. Stalin is present at the swearing-in ceremony

11:40 am: Ms. Jayalalithaa leaves from her residence for Madras University where she will be sworn in as the Chief Minister.

11:00 am: Some of the new faces who would be part of the 15th TN Assembly.

10:45 am: As Jayalalithaa is all set be become Chief Minister once again, we look back at >her previous swearing-in ceremonies.

10:40 am: The list of Ministers has 13 new faces and four women, including Ms. Jayalalithaa, who will hold the portfolios of Public, Police, General Administration and Home. >Here is the full list

10:25 am: Beach road lined with AIADMK party flags. Supporters throng roadsides to catch a glimpse of Ms. Jayalalithaa

10:15 am: AIADMK MLAs waiting to be sworn-in as Ministers.

Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.