Special PMLA court allows former Jharkhand CM Hemant Soren to participate in February 5 trust vote

Mr. Soren is an MLA representing the Barhait Assembly constituency; the Jharkhand Assembly’s current strength is 80, so the JMM-led ruling alliance needs the support of 41 MLAs during the trust vote

February 03, 2024 04:16 pm | Updated 10:16 pm IST - Ranchi

Former Jharkhand CM Hemant Soren being taken by Enforcement Directorate (ED) officials for the summons in an alleged land scam at the ED court, in Ranchi,

Former Jharkhand CM Hemant Soren being taken by Enforcement Directorate (ED) officials for the summons in an alleged land scam at the ED court, in Ranchi, | Photo Credit: ANI

Former Jharkhand Chief Minister Hemant Soren will participate in the trust vote in the Jharkhand Legislative Assembly on February 5, after a special PMLA (Prevention of Money Laundering Act) court granted his request on February 3.

Mr. Soren, who represents the Barhait Assembly constituency in Sahibganj district, had appealed to the court earlier in the day, to allow him to vote in the new government’s floor test, as a member of the Jharkhand Assembly. PMLA special judge Dinesh Rai gave the order allowing him to participate. On Friday, the special PMLA court had remanded him to five days in the custody of the Enforcement Directorate (ED) in a case of alleged money-laundering.

To win the vote of confidence, the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM)-led ruling alliance will need the support of 41 MLAs. In their support letter submitted to Governor C.P. Radhakrishnan, 43 MLAs have signed. The total strength of the Jharkhand Assembly stands at 80, after the recent resignation of JMM MLA Sarfaraz Ahmad from the Gandey Assembly seat.

MLAs sequestered in Hyderabad

The ongoing political crisis in Jharkhand was triggered by the arrest of Mr. Soren by the ED in connection with the money laundering case. Facing imminent arrest on Wednesday, Mr. Soren resigned from the State’s top post, after which Transport Minister Champai Soren was elected as the new leader of the JMM legislative party.

Mr. Champai Soren took his oath as the twelfth Chief Minister of Jharkhand on Friday, along with Satyanand Bhokta of the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) and Alamgiri Alam of the Congress, who were sworn in as Cabinet Ministers.

To avert the threat of horse-trading, 39 MLAs from the ruling alliance were flown to a Hyderabad resort by chartered plane on Friday. According to JMM sources, all MLAs will return on Monday morning, just hours before the trust vote.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.