‘ST status to non-tribals will destroy tribals’

Indigenous people call upon govt. issued ahead of its meeting with leaders of 6 communities

October 08, 2020 05:48 am | Updated 05:48 am IST - GUWAHATI

An indigenous lawyers’ collective has called upon the Assam government not to “destroy the tribal communities” of the State by granting Scheduled Tribe status to six non-tribal communities.

The Indigenous Lawyers’ Association of India (ILAI) made the appeal ahead of a meeting between the group of Ministers headed by Himanta Biswa Sarma and leaders of the six communities on October 8.

The six communities demanding ST status in Assam are Koch-Rajbongshi, Tai-Ahom, Chutia, Matak, Moran and Tea Tribes.

“There are communities among the six who have never been considered as tribes by any government or anthropological study and they do not possess any characteristics that tribal people do. Hence, the Assam government’s proposed inclusion of some socio-economically advanced and populous communities in the list of STs is mala fide and it shall eliminate the very concept of ‘tribals’ in India,” ILAI president Dilip Kanti Chakma said on Wednesday.

“Some of these communities are identified as Other Backward Classes (OBCs) and there is no provision in law to transport them from OBC to ST. While the OBC categorisation is based on caste, the STs are totally on a different footing,” he added.

If these communities are included in the list of the STs, the social and educational well-being and political representation from Gram Sabha to the Lok Sabha of the existing STs of Assam shall be affected and the already marginalised STs shall be further marginalised, the ILEA said.

Groups such as the All Assam Tribal Sangha and the Coordination Committee of the Tribal Organisations of Assam have been opposing the move to grant ST status to the six communities, specifically the Koch-Rajbongshi and Tai-Ahom who reigned over large swathes of present-day Assam, Bangladesh and West Bengal during the medieval period.

The tribal groups have been pointing out that granting ST status to the six communities would violate India’s assurances to the United Nations (UN) to obtain free, prior and informed consent of the indigenous people before adopting and implementing any legislative measures that are against the provisions of Article 19 of the UN Declaration on the Rights of the Indigenous Peoples.

India had supported the declaration adopted by the UN’s General Assembly on September 13, 2007.

Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.