Rajasthan Cabinet reshuffle: Fifteen Ministers to take oath at 4 p.m.

This is the first Cabinet reshuffle of the Gehlot Government which came to power in December 2018

November 21, 2021 10:45 am | Updated 12:37 pm IST - Jaipur

Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Ghelot. File

Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Ghelot. File

Fifteen new Rajasthan Ministers will take oath at 4 p.m. on November 21 at the Raj Bhavan in Jaipur as part of the Cabinet reshuffle, officials said.

Also read: Cabinet reshuffle sends positive message across Rajasthan, says Pilot

The Ministers include 11 Cabinet Ministers and four Ministers of State (MoS).

The new Rajasthan Cabinet will see 12 new faces, including five from the Sachin Pilot camp, in the reshuffle on November 21.

This is the first Cabinet reshuffle of the Gehlot Government which came to power in December 2018.

Three Ministers — Govind Singh Dotasra, Harish Chaudhary and Raghu Sharma — have been dropped and their resignations have been accepted by the Governor on recommendation of the Chief Minister while three Ministers — Mamta Bhupesh, Tikaram Jully and Bhajan Lal Jatav — will be elevated from MoS to Cabinet rank.

While Mr. Dotasra, Mr. Chaudhary and Mr. Sharma resigned on November 19, other Ministers resigned in a meeting of Council of Ministers on November 20.

Also read: All eyes on Rajasthan reshuffle after Punjab revamp

The resignation of Mr. Sharma, Mr. Chaudhary and Mr. Dotasra was accepted as they hold party positions and the "one man, one post" formula has been applied in the State.

Mr. Sharma has been appointed as the All India Congress Committee (AICC) in-charge for Gujarat and Mr. Chaudhary as the AICC in-charge for Punjab. Mr. Dotasra is the Rajasthan Pradesh Congress Committee (PCC) chief.

The Ashok Gehlot-led Congress Government will have a total of 30 Ministers, including 18 who had resigned earlier.

Rajasthan can have a maximum of 30 Ministers including the Chief Minister.

Three Ministers of State — those have been elevated to cabinet rank — are from the Scheduled Caste (SC) community, party sources said.

The new State Cabinet will have four SC members and three Ministers from the Scheduled Tribe (ST) community, the sources said, adding that the cabinet will also feature three women — a Muslim, one from the SC community and a Gujjar.

Among the new Ministers to take oath as Cabinet Ministers are Hemaram Chaudhary, Mahendrajit Singh Malviya, Ramlal Jat, Mahesh Joshi, Vishvendra Singh, Ramesh Meena, Mamta Bhupesh Bhairwa, Bhajanlal Jatav, Tikaram Juli, Govind Ram Meghwal and Shakuntala Rawat.

Those who will take oath as the new Ministers of State are Zahida, Brijendra Singh Ola, Rajendra Durha and Muralilal Meena.

Mahesh Joshi is the government chief whip.

Among those from the Sachin Pilot camp who have been included in the ministry are Vishvendra Singh, Ramesh Meena and Hemaram Chaudhary as Cabinet Ministers, and Brijendra Ola and Murari Meena as Ministers of State.

Two of them — Vishvendra Singh and Ramesh Meena — were sacked as Cabinet Ministers during a political crisis in the State last year.

Another SC member, former MP Govind Ram Meghwal, is a fresh face to be included in the refurbished cabinet.

Rajendra Singh Guda, one of the six MLAs who defected from the BSP to the Congress, has also been included as a Minister of State.

No Independent MLA has been given a ministerial berth, while some of them would be included as parliamentary Secretaries.

Some former BSP legislators would also be included as parliamentary Secretaries, the sources said, adding that some senior MLAs would be made Advisors to the Chief Minister.

After the Congress won bypolls held on two Assembly seats recently, the tally of the ruling party has reached to 108 in the house of 200.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.