Bihar polls: Lalu’s sons enter fray

Tej Pratap Yadav and Tejaswi Yadav will contest from the Yadav-dominated Mahua and Raghopur constituencies respectively.

September 23, 2015 04:58 pm | Updated December 04, 2021 11:33 pm IST - Patna

RJD supremo Lalu Prasad's sons Tejaswi Yadav and Tej Pratap Yadav in Patna. Photo: PTI

RJD supremo Lalu Prasad's sons Tejaswi Yadav and Tej Pratap Yadav in Patna. Photo: PTI

Rashtriya Janata Dal chief Lalu Prasad’s sons — Tej Pratap and Tejaswi Yadav — have found a place in the grand alliance’s list of candidates released on Wednesday.

The two are making their political debut from adjacent constituencies in Vaishali district. Mr. Tej Pratap, 27, will contest from Mahua and Mr. Tejaswi, 25, from Raghopur. Both are Yadav-dominated constituencies and have been RJD strongholds.

Both Mr. Lalu Prasad and his wife Rabri Devi have represented the Raghopur constituency. Ms. Rabri Devi was defeated by the JD(U) candidate Satish Kumar Yadav in the last poll. However, JD(U) dropped him this time to accomm-odate Mr. Tejaswi. A stung Mr. Kumar joined the BJP and has declared that he would contest against Mr. Tejaswi.

The RJD also denied ticket to party leader Jageshwar Rai who was expected to be the nomi-nee from Mahua. When he protested, he was expelled from the party.

Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.