Other States

5 INLD MLAs disqualified from Haryana Assembly

Four leaders have joined JJP, one BJP

Five legislators of the Indian National Lok Dal (INLD), four of whom switched sides to the Jannayak Janta Party (JJP) and one to the BJP, were disqualified on Tuesday as members of the Haryana Assembly under the anti-defection law by Speaker Kanwar Pal.

The decision has come just a month ahead of the Assembly polls in Haryana.

Those disqualified include Dabwali MLA Naina Singh Chautala, wife of Ajay Singh Chautala and mother of JJP leader Dushyant Chautala. The other legislators are Anoop Dhanak (Uklana), Rajdeep Phogat (Dadri), Pirthi Singh (Narwana) and Naseem Ahmad (Ferozepur Jhirka).

Anti-defection law

INLD leaders Balwan Singh and Abhay Singh Cahuata had filed petitions before the Speaker seeking disqualification of the five MLAs under the anti-defection law.

While Mr. Pirthi, Mr. Rajdeep, Ms. Naina and Mr. Dhanak joined the JJP, Mr. Ahmad first switched over to the Congress and later came to the BJP fold.

Since the split in the INLD last year and the formation of the JJP, both parties are going through a rough phase with some of their leaders joining the opposite camp.

(With PTI inputs)

A letter from the Editor

Dear reader,

We have been keeping you up-to-date with information on the developments in India and the world that have a bearing on our health and wellbeing, our lives and livelihoods, during these difficult times. To enable wide dissemination of news that is in public interest, we have increased the number of articles that can be read free, and extended free trial periods. However, we have a request for those who can afford to subscribe: please do. As we fight disinformation and misinformation, and keep apace with the happenings, we need to commit greater resources to news gathering operations. We promise to deliver quality journalism that stays away from vested interest and political propaganda.

Support Quality Journalism
Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jun 5, 2020 9:26:30 AM | https://www.thehindu.com/news/national/other-states/5-inld-mlas-disqualified-from-haryana-assembly/article29387123.ece

Next Story