Manmohan takes oath as RS member

Prime Minister Manmohan Singh on Monday took oath as member of the Rajya Sabha after being re-elected in the biennial election from Assam. He took the oath in the name of God in the chamber of Chairman Hamid Ansari.

Dr. Singh, 80, who is the Leader of the Rajya Sabha, was elected from Assam for the fifth consecutive term.

Among those present were Congress president Sonia Gandhi, party leaders Ahmed Patel, Motilal Vohra and Rajeev Shukla. Samajwadi Party leader Ram Gopal Yadav, Lok Jan Shakti Party chief Ram Vilas Paswan and some members of Parliament were also present.

Later, Dr. Singh told journalists that “it is a great opportunity for me to rededicate myself to the service of people of Assam.”

Santius Kujur, another Congress member who was elected from Assam, also took oath.

The election to the two seats took place on May 30, and the Congress won both seats.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jul 24, 2021 11:41:36 PM |

Next Story