Ramesh Kumar elected Karnataka Assembly Speaker

May 25, 2018 04:29 pm | Updated 05:30 pm IST - Bengaluru

K.R. Ramesh Kumar in the Karnataka Assembly after his election as Speaker on May 25, 2018.

K.R. Ramesh Kumar in the Karnataka Assembly after his election as Speaker on May 25, 2018.

Congress’ K.R. Ramesh Kumar was on May 25 unanimously elected the Speaker of the Karnataka Assembly, after BJP candidate S. Suresh Kumar pulled out of the race, in a major victory for the JD(S)-Congress coalition before Chief Minister H.D. Kumaraswamy faced the floor test.

Shortly before the start of the proceedings, Mr. Suresh Kumar said he was withdrawing his nomination following a direction from the BJP leadership.

“On the directions of our party, I had filed the nomination for the post of Speaker of Karnataka Legislative Assembly. Now, after discussion in the party, it is felt that the Speaker has to be elected unanimously following the parliamentary traditions. I’m withdrawing my nomination,” Mr. Suresh Kumar tweeted.

Mr. Suresh Kumar, a fifth term MLA from the city, had filed his papers on May 24, in an apparent indication by the BJP that it wanted to give the JD(S)-Congress coalition a run for its money in the race for speakership before Mr. Kumaraswamy faced the floor test.

As the House met and pro tem speaker K.G. Bopaiah took up the matter, BJP’s Sunil Kumar stood up and said he was not moving the motion proposing Mr. Suresh Kumar for the Speaker’s post. Mr. Suresh Kumar then said, “I accept it.”

Mr. Ramesh Kumar’s name was then proposed by former Chief Minister and Congress Legislature Party leader Siddaramaiah and seconded by Deputy Chief Minister G. Parameshwara.

The motion was unanimously adopted by the House.

Mr. Kumaraswamy and BJP leader B.S. Yeddyurappa escorted Mr. Ramesh Kumar to the chair.

The move by the BJP, which is the single largest party with 104 MLAs, apparently came because it failed to muster support of additional lawmakers required for the victory of its candidate.

The Congress-JD(S) combine has claimed support of 117 members.

The Congress has 78 MLAs, Mr. Kumaraswamy’s JD(S) 36, and the BSP 1. The alliance has also claimed support of the lone KPJP MLA and an independent. Mr. Kumaraswamy had won from two seats.

Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.