Election Commission suspends Hyderabad DCP, ACP, Inspector for ‘partisan policing’ 

‘Instead of legal action, police tried to dilute ₹18 lakh cash seizure’ 

November 29, 2023 07:50 pm | Updated 10:21 pm IST - HYDERABAD

DCP (Central Zone) M. Venkateshwarulu is among the three police officers suspended by the Election Commission of india. Photo: hyderabadpolice.gov.in/

DCP (Central Zone) M. Venkateshwarulu is among the three police officers suspended by the Election Commission of india. Photo: hyderabadpolice.gov.in/

The Election Commission of India (ECI), based on a report by Special Observers over seizure of ₹18 lakh cash from Musheerabad on Wednesday, suspended three police officers for ‘partisan policing’.

Musheerabad Inspector Jahangir Yadav, Chikkadpally ACP A. Yadagiri and DCP (Central Zone) M. Venkateshwarulu, the order said, “Were found to be acting in a partisan manner (not free and fair manner).”

According to a report sent by Hyderabad Police Commissioner Sandeep Shandilya to the State Nodal Police Observer, ₹18 lakh cash, a mobile phone and a cheque book were seized from a vehicle bearing registration number AP 28 CH 6759 at Santosh Elite apartment at Musheerabad.

Mr. Yadav (SHO) booked a case under Cr. PC 102 (Power of police officer to seize certain property) and mentioned the accused as unknown.

Mr. Shandilya, while recommending the suspension of the three officers, wrote: “The SHO should have applied the Sections 171 (B), 171 (E) and 188 IPC, instead of 102 Cr. PC. It was a definite attempt to shield the real accused behind this crime.”

The ECI noted: “The police officers could have taken action under relevant law by name as the owner of the vehicle, cellphone and to whom the money belonged could have been ascertained within a few minutes of the seizure.” It added: “Instead of taking proper legal action against the culprits, they were apparently trying to dilute the case and mislead the investigation by not naming the accused.”

The three officers were suspended for dereliction of duty, with immediate effect, and necessary disciplinary proceedings will be initiated against them.

Mr. Shandilya deputed and instructed three other officers for the vacant positions and to take up election duties immediately. As per his order, DCP (Traffic-III) D. Srinivas will look after the works of the post of DCP (Central zone), ACP (CCS, DD) K. Madhumohan Reddy will look after the roles of ACP Chikkadpally division and D. Venkat Reddy (Detective Inspector, Musheerabad police station) will assume responsibilities of the Station House Officer.

Following the development, later in the evening, Director General of Police Anjani Kumar also invoked rules of the Telangana State Civil Services (CC& A) and issued separate suspension orders to the three officers.

Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.