Two scientists share award conferred in the memory of AMU founder


Eminent scientists Prof. Obaid Siddiqi and Prof. Syed Zahoor Qasim will be conferred the Sir Syed Ahmad Khan International Award-2009 by Aligarh Muslim University on the occasion of Sir Syed Day on October 17.

The international award was constituted last year and carries a cash prize of Rs. 5 lakh along with a citation and plaque.

A seven-member jury comprising distinguished personalities unanimously recommended that the award in the field of Life Science be awarded jointly to Prof. Siddiqi and Prof. Qasim.

Prof. Obaid Siddiqi is an eminent scientist and his research interest includes Molecular Biology, Behaviour Genetics and Neurobiology. He has been conferred Padma Bhushan and honorary degrees by several universities of international repute.

Prof. Syed Zahoor Qasim had brought laurels to the nation by successfully leading a team of scientists in the first Indian expedition to Antarctica in 1981. He was instrumental in the creation of the Ministry of Environment and had served as a Member of the Planning Commission, said an official release.

AMU had invited nominations from individuals, universities, research centres, government and non-government organisations.

Why you should pay for quality journalism - Click to know more

Related Topics Delhi
Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Dec 15, 2019 11:39:54 AM |

Next Story