Polling begins on a slow note for Telangana Assembly elections

There are a total of 35,655 polling stations across Telangana for the State Assembly elections.

November 30, 2023 08:46 am | Updated 02:32 pm IST - HYDERABAD

Students queue up to cast their vote in Khammam on Thursday

Students queue up to cast their vote in Khammam on Thursday | Photo Credit: G.N. Rao

On a dull cloudy day, polling began on a slow note on Thursday morning for the 119 Telangana Assembly Constituencies. While some polling stations began functioning at 7 a.m., other polling stations like those in Erraboda in Rajendranagar Constituency began functioning at 7.20 a.m. A total of 2290 candidates are in fray including the Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS) president and Chief Minister K. Chandrasekhar Rao, IT Minister K.T. Rama Rao, Telangana Congress president A Revanth Reddy, BJP leader Bandi Sanjay, cricketer Mohammed Azharuddin among others.

Also Read | Telangana Assembly elections LIVE updates

Police threw a security cordon around the polling stations limiting the access to some stretches of roads. Community halls, government schools, private schools and function halls have been converted into polling stations to ensure easy access to voters. Civic workers marked out white lines to demarcate the outer limits beyond which volunteers and polling agents of political parties helped voters.

A total of 12,000 polling stations have been identified as critical and additional forces have been deployed there to keep voting free and fair. There are a total of 35,655 polling stations across the state. 

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.