Telangana 2018

TRS leader K. Chandrashekhar Rao sworn in as Telangana CM for second straight term

Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) president K. Chandrashekar Rao (KCR) during his swearing-in ceremony as the Chief Minister of Telangana, in Hyderabad, Thursday, Dec. 13, 2018.   | Photo Credit: PTI

Telangana Rashtra Samiti president K. Chandrashekhar Rao was on Thursday sworn in as the Chief Minister of Telangana for the second term by Governor E.S.L. Narasimhan.

Mr. Mohammed Mahmood Ali, who was Deputy Chief Minister holding the subject of revenue in the previous term, was the only Minister to be administered the oath of office along with Mr. Rao.

The brief ceremony lasted just five minutes on the lawns of Raj Bhavan.

Most of the 88 newly elected MLAs of TRS were present but conspicuous by their absence were the four Ministers who lost the election. Former Speaker S. Madhusudana Chary who also lost the poll was present. Barring a Congress member of the Legislative Council Ponguleti Sudhakar Reddy, the entire Opposition kept away from the event.

The Chief Minister's son and former Industries Minister K.T. Rama Rao greeted the visitors at the inner gate within the Raj Bhavan. Former Tamil Nadu Governor P.S. Rammohan Rao, Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen president Asaduddin Owaisi, bureaucrats and senior police officers attended. A huge LED screen was set up to beam images of people walking in and all those occupying seats.

Chief Secretary S.K. Joshi conducted the proceedings which began and ended with the playing of the national anthem. Mr. Rao personally met the visitors in the VIPs enclosure where high tea was arranged after the function.

Our code of editorial values

Related Topics
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Oct 16, 2021 4:37:57 AM |

Next Story