Rajasthan Assembly Election Results 2023 | Rajasthan sticks to 30-year-old trend, votes out government

Rajasthan election results 2023 | The Hindu’s Mohammed Iqbal on likely chief ministerial candidates

The BJP won 115 of the 199 seats contested, while the Congress was at a distant second with 69 seats

December 03, 2023 09:58 am | Updated December 04, 2023 06:56 pm IST - Jaipur

The Opposition BJP wrested power from the Congress in Rajasthan on Sunday by obtaining a clear majority and emerging as the single largest party past the halfway mark in the closely fought Assembly election. The BJP won 115 of the 199 seats contested while the Congress was at a distant second with 69 seats.

The desert State has maintained its tradition of voting out the incumbent government during the last three decades in the election results. The BJP’s victory also came as a setback to Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot, who was expecting to beat the anti-incumbency trend with his welfare schemes, social security measures, and seven guarantees promised to the electorate.

BJP candidate Vasundhara Raje Scindia at the party office in Jaipur after the BJP’s victory in the Rajasthan Assembly elections on December 3, 2023.

BJP candidate Vasundhara Raje Scindia at the party office in Jaipur after the BJP’s victory in the Rajasthan Assembly elections on December 3, 2023. | Photo Credit: PTI

The results depicted an influence of the BJP’s identity politics on the voters as well as the acceptance of Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s “guarantee of delivering on guarantees” during a series of rallies he addressed in the State during the election campaign. The BJP has been pitching Mr. Modi’s promises as a counter to the Congress’s plank of schemes for beneficiaries.

Other issues raised by the BJP, such as crimes against women and Dalits, rampant corruption in government departments, paper leaks in government recruitment exams, and appeasement made an impact in the constituencies where the polling percentage was recorded high.

Also read | LIVE:Rajasthan Election Results 2023

Mr. Gehlot went to Raj Bhavan here in the evening to submit his resignation to Governor Kalraj Mishra. Pradesh Congress president Govind Singh Dotasra said the first meeting of Congress Legislature Party would be convened in Jaipur on December 5 with the participation of the newly elected MLAs.

Assembly Speaker C.P. Joshi was among several senior Congress leaders who faced defeat in the polls. Mr. Joshi lost the Nathdwara seat to BJP’s Vishvaraj Singh Mewar by 7,504 votes. Ministers B.D. Kalla, Pratap Singh Khachariyawas, Parsadi Lal Meena, and Mamta Bhupesh also lost to their BJP rivals.

Rajasthan assembly election results | Key winners and losers

In the BJP, the prominent leaders who lost included Leader of Opposition Rajendra Rathore (Taranagar), former State unit president Satish Poonia (Amber) and former MP Jyoti Mirdha (Nagaur), who had recently joined the party. Polling was held in 199 of the 200 Assembly seats, as the election in Sriganganagar’s Karanpur was postponed following the Congress candidate’s death.

Senior BJP leader and former Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje arrived at the party’s State headquarters here to a tumultuous welcome after winning her Jhalrapatan seat. Ms. Raje said the people of the State had rejected the “misgovernance of Congress” and reposed faith in Mr. Modi’s promise for inclusive growth. She said the people had also given a chance to the BJP to serve them in 2024.

In his reaction, Mr. Gehlot told presspersons outside his residence that the election result was “shocking” as the Congress government’s flagship schemes were being talked about all over the country. He said the party would analyse the reasons for its defeat in Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, and Chhattisgarh.

Also read | Chief Minister Gehlot said the assembly poll results were “unexpected for everyone” and added the party humbly accepted the people’s mandate.

Mr. Gehlot separately posted a message on X asking the new government to continue the pace of development given by Congress to the State during the last five years, and take forward schemes such as the Chiranjeevi health insurance scheme, and the Old Pension Scheme for government employees.

Also Read | Rajasthan records 71.64% turnout in peaceful polling

Amid celebrations in the BJP camp, all eyes were on the selection of the Chief Minister as the party had decided not to project anyone for the top post during the election campaign. With Ms. Raje’s supporters planning to raise the demand for her appointment to the post, several other names, including those of Diya Kumari, Mahant Balaknath, and Gajendra Singh Shekhawat, were doing rounds.

Among the smaller parties, the Bharat Adivasi Party won three seats, Rahstriya Loktantrik Party (RLP) won two, Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) won two, and Congress’ ally Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) won one seat. Seven independent candidates also emerged victorious.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.