Odisha elections | 75.68% turnout in first phase on May 13: CEO

Election to four Lok Sabha seats and 28 assembly segments in Odisha were held on May 13, 2024.

Updated - May 15, 2024 07:23 pm IST

Published - May 15, 2024 12:57 pm IST - Bhubaneswar/Koraput

An elderly voter after casting a vote for the Odisha Assembly Election 2024, at Gopalpur in Ganjam district on May 13, 2024.

An elderly voter after casting a vote for the Odisha Assembly Election 2024, at Gopalpur in Ganjam district on May 13, 2024. | Photo Credit: ANI

Odisha's Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) N.B. Dhal on Wednesday, May 15, 2024, said the voter turnout in the first phase of polling in four Lok Sabha seats and 28 assembly segments in the State on May 13 was 75.68%

The CEO said the voter turnout may further increase after receipt of postal votes.

He said the highest voter turnout of 82.16% was recorded in Nabarangpur Lok Sabha constituency.

The CEO said Nabarangpur was followed by Kalahandi (77.90 pc), Koraput (77,53 PC) and Berhampur (65.41 pc).

Lok Sabha and Assembly elections are being held simultaneously in Odisha.

Huge turnout in tribal areas

Meanwhile, a report said the tribal tribal-dominated Nabarangpur district with four assembly segments under the Nabarangpur Lok Sabha seat said the district recorded an impressive voter turnout of over 84.57%, surpassing its previous record of approximately 80 per cent set in 2019.

District Election Officer-cum-Collector (Nabarangpur) Kamal Lochan Mishra attributed this high voter turnout to extensive voter awareness campaigns conducted under the Systematic Voters' Education and Electoral Participation (SVEEP) initiative.

"Several voter awareness programmes were undertaken to enhance the voting percentage in the district and it's good to notice that the district recorded nearly 85% of polling," said Mishra.

Among the assembly segments, Nabarangpur registered the highest polling percentage at 85.61, followed by Dabugaon 85.20%, Jharigaon 84.22%, and Umerkote 83.05 per cent.

The Nabarangpur Lok Sabha constituency also witnessed a notable rise in voter participation, with 82.16% turnout compared to 79.52% in 2019, making it the highest among the four Lok Sabha seats that went to poll on May 13.

Candidates from various political parties expressed optimism regarding the impact of the high voter turnout on their campaigns.

"The high turnout of voters speaks volumes of people's anger towards the BJD in the state and BJP in the Centre. I am confident that the people have voted for Congress," said Bhujabal Majhi of Congress for Nabarangpur Lok Sabha seat.

Pradeep Majhi BJD candidate for the Nabarangpur Lok Sabha seat attributed the high voter turnout to the regional party's effective governance under the Nabarangpur Parliamentary segment.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.