Meghalaya Assembly election: Congress announces final list of candidates

No star campaigners or mega rallies, will focus on grassroots connect, says Meghalaya Congress unit chief Vincent H. Pala

Updated - January 29, 2023 07:23 pm IST

Published - January 29, 2023 10:59 am IST - GUWAHATI

Photo used for representational purpose only.

Photo used for representational purpose only. | Photo Credit: R.V. Moorthy

Seeking to regain lost ground, the Congress on Saturday night announced its second and final list of five candidates for the Meghalaya Assembly election, slated for February 27.

The second list included a woman – Jhanika Siangshai from the Khliehriat Assembly constituency, once the hub of the rat-hole coal mining industry. The Congress had nominated 10 women in the first list of 55 candidates. Meghalaya has a total of 60 Assembly seats.

The other candidates named are Arbiangkam Khar Sohmat from the Amlarem constituency, Chireng Peter R. Marak from Kharkutta, Tweel K. Marak from Resubelpara and Carla R. Sangma from Rajabala.

Announcing the names, Meghalaya Pradesh Congress Committee president and MP Vincent H. Pala said the party would not hold mega rallies or bring in star campaigners despite about 80% of the candidates being fresh faces.

“We are going for grassroots connect as people in Meghalaya prefer to be acquainted with their candidates than the parties they belong to,” he told presspersons in the State capital Shillong.

Mr. Pala is contesting from the Sutnga-Saipung constituency in the East Jaintia Hills district.

List of candidates from other parties

The Trinamool Congress was the first party to announce candidates for the Meghalaya election with a list of 52 candidates.

The National People’s Party, which heads the coalition government in the State, has also announced its list which comprises 58 candidates. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is yet to announce its list. “We expect the list by January 31,” State party president Ernest Mawrie said.

The last date for filing nominations is February 7. The counting of votes will be held on March 2.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.