Biren Singh sworn in as Chief Minister of Manipur

Five other Cabinet Ministers were also sworn in alone with him

March 21, 2022 08:06 pm | Updated 08:06 pm IST - IMPHAL

BJP National President JP Nadda with Biren Singh after the latter’s swearing-in ceremony as Manipur CM.

BJP National President JP Nadda with Biren Singh after the latter’s swearing-in ceremony as Manipur CM. | Photo Credit: PTI

The newly chosen Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Legislative leader N. Biren Singh was sworn in as the Chief Minister of Manipur at the Raj Bhavan at 3:20 pm on Monday.

Five other cabinet Ministers were also sworn in along with him. They are T. Bishwajit, Govindas Konthoujam who has been elected seven consecutive terms, Y. Khenchand ( a former Speaker), Nemcha Kipgen ( a former Minister for some time in the Biren ministry) and Awangbou Newmai of the Naga People’s Front.

Both Bishwajit and Khemchand had reportedly tried for the Legislative leadership of the BJP.

Governor La Ganesan administered the oath of office and secrecy in the function. Other parties like the National People’s Party, the Janata Dal (United), the NPF, the Kuki People’s Association and two independents had extended support to the BJP ministry.

The new Chief Minister has so far not acknowledged and accepted the support. It is the first official indication that Mr.Biren has joined hands with the Naga People’s Front by inducting one MLA in the Council of Ministers. The NPF was a coalition partner in the previous ministry.

The new Cabinet Ministers are likely to get their portfolios later on Monday evening.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.