Full list of Union government ministers with portfolios: Who gets what

Union Ministers like Amit Shah, Rajnath Singh and Nitin Gadkari have retained their old portfolios; new inductees include Shivraj Singh Chouhan, J.P. Nadda and H.D. Kumaraswamy.

Updated - June 11, 2024 05:00 pm IST

Published - June 10, 2024 08:34 pm IST

Prime Minister Narendra Modi chairs the first meeting of his new Cabinet, in New Delhi, on June 10, 2024.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi chairs the first meeting of his new Cabinet, in New Delhi, on June 10, 2024. | Photo Credit: PTI

Having secured the numbers to form the government, the National Democratic Alliance (NDA), spearheaded by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, had administered the oath of office on June 9.

Union Ministers like Amit Shah, Rajnath Singh and Nitin Gadkari have retained their old portfolios but there were some new faces like Shivraj Singh Chouhan, J.P. Nadda and H.D. Kumaraswamy.

S. Jaishankar and Nirmala Sitharaman also retained their External Affairs and Finance portfolios.

Notable absentees were Anurag Thakur and Smriti Irani.

Here are the Cabinet Ministers

Narendra Modi: Prime Minister and also in-charge of:  Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions;  Department of Atomic Energy;  Department of Space;  All important policy issues; and  All other portfolios not allocated to any Minister.

Rajnath Singh: Defence

Amit Shah: Home Affairs and Cooperation

Nitin Gadkari: Road Transport and Highways

J.P. Nadda: Health and Family Welfare and Minister of Chemicals and Fertilizers.

Shivraj Singh Chouhan: Agriculture, Farmers Welfare and Rural Development.

Nirmala Sitharaman: Finance and Corporate Affairs

S. Jaishankar: External Affairs

Manohar Lal Khattar: Housing, Urban Affairs and Power.

H.D. Kumaraswamy: Ministry of Heavy Industries and Steel

Piyush Goyal: Commerce and Industry

Dharmendra Pradhan: Education

Jitan Ram Manjhi: Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises.

Rajiv Ranjan Singh alias Lalan Singh: Panchayati Raj; and Fisheries, Animal Husbandry and Dairying.

Sarbananda Sonowal: Ports, Shipping and Waterways.

Dr. Virendra Kumar: Social Justice and Empowerment.

Kinjarapu Rammohan Naidu: Civil Aviation

Pralhad Joshi: Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution; and New and Renewable Energy.

Jual Oram: Tribal Affairs

Giriraj Singh: Textiles

Ashwini Vaishnaw: Railways; Information and Broadcasting; and Electronics and Information Technology.

Jyotiraditya M. Scindia: Communications; and Development of North Eastern Region.

Bhupender Yadav: Environment, Forest and Climate Change.

Gajendra Singh Shekhawat: Culture; and Tourism.

Annpurna Devi: Women and Child Development

Kiren Rijiju: Parliamentary Affairs; and Minority Affairs.

Hardeep Singh Puri: Petroleum and Natural Gas

Dr. Mansukh Mandaviya: Labour and Employment; and Youth Affairs and Sports.

G. Kishan Reddy: Coal; and Mines

Chirag Paswan: Food Processing Industries.

C.R. Patil: Jal Shakti.

Ministers of State (Independent Charge)

Rao Inderjit Singh: Ministry of Statistics and Programme Implementation; Ministry of Planning; and Culture

Dr. Jitendra Singh: Science and Technology; Earth Sciences; Prime Minister’s Office; Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions; Atomic Energy; and Department of Space

Arjun Ram Meghwal: Law and Justice; and MoS of Parliamentary Affairs

Jadhav Prataprao Ganpatrao: Ministry of Ayush; and MoS Health and Family Welfare

Jayant Chaudhary: Ministry of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship; and MoS in Education

Ministers of State

Jitin Prasada: Ministry of Commerce and Industry; and Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology

Shripad Yesso Naik: Ministry of Power; and Ministry of New and Renewable Energy

Pankaj Chaudhary: Finance

Krishan Pal: Cooperation

Ramdas Athawale: Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment

Ram Nath Thakur: Ministry of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare

Nityanand Rai: Home Affairs

Anupriya Patel: Ministry of Health and Family Welfare; and Ministry of Chemicals and Fertilizers

V. Somanna: Jal Shakti; and Ministry of Railways

Dr. Chandra Sekhar Pemmasani: Ministry of Rural Development; and Ministry of Communications

Prof. S. P. Singh Baghel: Ministry of Fisheries, Animal Husbandry and Dairying; and Ministry of Panchayati Raj

Sushri Sobha Karandlaje: Ministry of Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises; and Ministry of Labour and Employment

Kirtivardhan Singh: Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change; and Ministry of External Affairs

B. L. Verma: Ministry of Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution; and Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment

Shantanu Thakur: Ministry of Ports, Shipping and Waterways

Suresh Gopi: Ministry of Petroleum and Natural Gas; and Ministry of Tourism

L. Murugan: Ministry of Information and Broadcasting; and Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs

Ajay Tamta: Ministry of Road Transport and Highways

Bandi Sanjay Kumar: Ministry of Home Affairs

Kamlesh Paswan: Ministry of Rural Development

Bhagirath Choudhary: Ministry of Coal; and Ministry of Mines

Sanjay Seth: Ministry of Defence

Ravneet Singh: Ministry of Food Processing Industries; and Ministry of Railways

Durgadas Uikey: Ministry of Tribal Affairs

Raksha Nikhil Khadse: Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports

Sukanta Majumdar: Ministry of Education; and Ministry of Development of North Eastern Region

Savitri Thakur: Ministry of Women and Child Development

Tokhan Sahu: Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs

Raj Bhushan Choudhary: Ministry of Jal Shakti

Bhupathi Raju Srinivasa Varma: Ministry of Heavy Industries; and Ministry of Steel

Harsh Malhotra: Ministry of Corporate Affairs; and Ministry of Road Transport and Highways

Nimuben Jayantibhai Bambhaniya: Ministry of Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution

Murlidhar Mohol: Ministry of Cooperation; and Ministry of Civil Aviation

George Kurian: Ministry of Minority Affairs; and Ministry of Fisheries, Animal Husbandry and Dairying

Pabitra Margherita: Ministry of External Affairs; and Ministry of Textiles

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.