Goa 2017

Goa: Key winners and losers — Parsekar loses; Rane, Kamat win

Goa Chief Minister Laxmikant Parsekar. File photo   | Photo Credit: R.V. Moorthy

Goa is returning a hung Assembly, putting the spotlight on smaller parties in government formation. Most of the ministers in the BJP-led government headed by Laxmikant Parsekar in Goa were defeated, apart from Mr. Parsekar himself who lost his sitting seat Mandrem in the Assembly polls.


6. p.m.: Six of the eight Ministers lose the polls to their rivals, adding to the poor performance of the BJP, which in 2012 emerged victorious in the coastal State securing a simple majority on its own. Newly-formed Goa Forward Party deals a double blow to the BJP as its candidates unseat two senior Ministers in the outgoing Cabinet.

In Siolim, Water Resources Minister Dayanand Mandrekar loses to GFP’s Vinod Palyekar.

In Saligao, Tourism minister Dilip Parulekar loses to GFP’s Jayesh Salgaoncar.

Industries Minister Mahadev Naik loses to Congress’ Subhash Shirodkar in Shiroda.

MGP’s Dipak Dhavalikar, who was sacked from the Cabinet before the polls after his party severed its ties with the BJP, just ahead of the elections, loses to BJP-backed independent Govind Gawade in Priol.

2 p.m.: Former Goa CM Digambar Kamat of the Congress wins from Margao.

12.59 p.m.: Forest Minister Rajendra Arlekar is trailing by 2,773 votes against Babu Azgaonkar in Pernem

12.26 p.m.: In Saleigao, Tourism Minister Dilip Parulekar is trailing by 691 votes against Jayesh Salgaonjar of Goa Forward after first round.

11.30 a.m.: Chief Minister Laxmikant Parsekar (BJP) loses to Congress’ Dayanand Sopte in Mandrem constituency - PTI

11.23 a.m.: Goa Forward’s Vinod Palienkar beats Water Resources Minister Dayanand Mandrekar in Siolim by 1,119 votes.

10.56 a.m.: Chief Minister Laxmikant Parsekar trails Congress candidate Dayanand Sopte by 3,826 votes in Mandrem constituency. EC yet to declare result. Mr. Parsekar leaves counting Centre without making comments.

10.43 a.m.: Power Minister Milind Naik wins by 138 votes against Sankalp Amonkar of Congress

10.01 a.m.: MGP’s Dipak Pawaskar defeats Ganesh Gaonkar of BJP by 1,169 votes in Sanvordem constituency.

9.56 a.m.: In Priok constituency former Minister Dipak Dhavlikar of MGP trailing by 700 votes

9.53 a.m.: Rajesh Patnekar of BJP trailing by 600 votes at the end of 1st round against Naresh Sawal of MGP in Bicholim

9.48 a.m.: Parsekar trailing by 3,600 votes after second round.

9.12 a.m.: Francisco Silveira of Congress leads in St. Andrem against Ramrao Wagh of BJP by 900 votes after first round

9.10 a.m.: In Taleigao constituency Zenifer Monserrate of INC leading by 800 votes in first round

9.08 a.m.: Parsekar trailing by 1,740 votes

9.05 a.m.: Pravin Zantey of BJP leading by 2000 votes against Santosh Sawant of INC

9.03 a.m.: Water Resources Minister Dayanand Mandrekar trails by 650 votes behind Vinod Palyekar after first round

9 a.m.: Chief Minister Laxmikant Parsekar traisls in Mandrem constituency behind Dayanand Sobte by 750 votes in first round

8.55 a.m.: Pratapaing Rane of Congress is leading by 1,700 votes in Poriem constituency after first round of counting.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jun 11, 2021 10:56:36 AM | https://www.thehindu.com/elections/goa-2017/goa-key-winners-and-losers-parsekar-trailing-rane-leading/article17446575.ece

Next Story