Dynasts dominate as BJP releases second list

The BJP announced its second list of candidates for the upcoming Assembly polls, with a declaration of 99 names covering almost all phases.

Updated - December 04, 2021 11:24 pm IST

Published - September 20, 2015 02:33 am IST - NEW DELHI:

The BJP announced its second list of candidates for the upcoming Assembly polls in Bihar, with a declaration of 99 names covering almost phases of the poll with several tickets given to sons and relatives of senior leaders. This, even as rebellion continued to stir in both alliances as more and more candidates were declared.

Union Minister for Health J. P. Nadda, a member of the Central Election Committee (CEC) of the party which includes Prime Minister Narendra Modi and is headed by party president Amit Shah, said: that “all communities and professions have been adequately represented in the list, and 60 per cent of the seats have been given to young candidates.” With these 99 seats, the total number of seats declared by the BJP goes up to 142, with just 18 seats left to declare.

Several fledgling dynasts were also given tickets in this list, including Nitish Mishra, son of former Chief Minister Jagannath Mishra, Vivek Thakur, son of former Union Minister C. P. Thakur and Arijit Shaswat son of Lok Sabha MP Ashwini Choubey.

Ajay Pratap Singh, son of Janata Dal (U) rebel MLA Narendra Singh, wrested the Jamui candidacy for himself in the teeth of much opposition from the Lok Janshakti Party. The other contentious seat of Chikai is still to be declared.

Meanwhile, rebellions were growing on both sides of the political divide, the BJP-led NDA and the Janata Dal (U)-Rashtriya Janta Dal (RJD) led ‘mahagathbandhan.’ Satish Kumar Rai, former JD(U) MLA who had defeated former Bihar Chief Minister Rabri Devi from the Raghpur seat, joined the BJP and will be given that seat again. Lok Janshakti Party chief Ram Vilas Paswan faced rebellion from within his family after his son-in-law burnt his father-in-law’s effigy in Bihar on being denied a ticket.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.