Bihar Assembly election: Phase I campaign ends

Altogether 1,066 candidates are in the fray for the first phase of the Bihar Assembly elections, 114 of them females

Updated - October 26, 2020 07:16 pm IST

Published - October 26, 2020 05:59 pm IST - Patna

Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar addresses an election campaign rally, ahead of the Assembly elections, at Mahua in Vaishali district on October 26, 2020.

Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar addresses an election campaign rally, ahead of the Assembly elections, at Mahua in Vaishali district on October 26, 2020.

Curtain came down on October 26 over campaign for 71 Assembly segments of Bihar which go to polls on October 28, in the first phase of elections.

Also read: Bihar Assembly election | Nitish Kumar is no longer the poster boy for Mahadalits

Leading the NDA charge, Prime Minister Narendra Modi flew down to address as many as three rallies where he urged the voters to vote Chief Minister Nitish Kumar back to power.

Former Congress president Rahul Gandhi, whose party is contesting the elections in alliance with Lalu Prasads RJD and three Left parties, also chipped in with two rallies.

The BJPs quest for dominance over the State’s political scene, evident from a seat-sharing deal as part of which it clinched nearly as many constituencies as the JD(U) its senior partner so far- resonated during the election campaign.

Also read: Bihar Assembly elections | CPI (ML) candidate Mehboob Alam hits the campaign trail in Balrampur

Mr. Modi, as also other BJP star campaigners like Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and party president Jagat Ptakash Nadda, repeatedly cited Ram temple at Ayodhya, scrapping of Article 370 and law against triple talaq as achievements of the government at the Centre and attacked the Opposition for opposing these.

The 69-year-old Chief Minister, who is also the JD(U) president and is seeking a fourth term in power, carried out a strenuous campaign which began with a series of virtual rallies and has been followed by dozens of election meetings where he has been physically present, including two where he shared the stage with the Prime Minister.

The normally unflappable Mr. Kumar made news on more than one occasion for losing his cool and snapping at protesters from the Opposition camp who turned up at his rallies raising slogans.

Also read: Analysis | Tejashwi Yadav narrows gap as confusion plagues NDA

RJD leader Tejashwi Yadav, who has been named by his party as its Chief Ministerial candidate, also ran an indefatigable campaign which comprised rallies, video messages relayed through the social media and press conferences.

Massive turnouts and enthusiastic response from the crowds at his rallies have been a surprise for political observers who have underscored that the ambience spoke more of the anti-incumbency than the appeal of the former Deputy CM.

Another huge draw has been Lok Janshakti Party president Chirag Paswan who stunned all with his decision to go solo in the Assembly polls.

Also read: Bihar Assembly elections | Millennial politicians are determined to take over reins, says Prof Ashwani Kumar

37-year-old Chirag Paswan began campaigning actively rather late, only after the customary mourning after the death of his father Ram Vilas Paswan was over on October 20.

The LJP chief has, thereafter, hit the streets with a vengeance canvassing for his candidates, a sizeable chunk of whom happen to be rebels from the BJP and the JD(U) which he has vowed to dislodge from power in the state while proclaiming loyalty towards the saffron party.

Other prominent leaders who have campaigned in the State so far include Union Ministers Rajnath Singh and Smriti Irani, Congress leaders Raj Babbar and Shatrughan Sinha, BSP chief Mayawati and AIMIM chief Asaduddin Owaisi.

Also read: Bihar Assembly elections | Bihar needs Nitish-led NDA govt. for development: Modi

CPI rising star Kanhaiya Kumar also joined the campaign, mainly for candidates of the Left parties.

Besides, Union Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman flew down to release the BJP manifesto which promised, among other things, free coronavirus vaccination.

Many prominent leaders fell prey to the contagion while campaigning, which saw them among large numbers of people without necessary vaccinations. These included Deputy Chief Minister Sushil Kumar Modi, former Maharashtra Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis and former Union Ministers Rajiv Pratap Rudy and Syed Shahnawaz Hussain.

Altogether 1,066 candidates are in the fray for the first phase of elections, 114 of them females.

Also read:  BJP manifesto promises free vaccine for Bihar

The voting in the first phase on October 28 will decide fate of nearly half-a-dozen Ministers of Nitish Kumar Cabinet-Krishnandan Varma, Prem Kumar, Jay Kumar Singh, Santosh Kumar Nirala, Vijay Sinha and Ram Narayan Mandal.

The 71 constituencies going to vote on October fall in six districts, including Naxal-hit Gaya, Rohtas and Aurangabad.

Among the prominent parties while RJD is contesting on 42 of the 71 seats in the first phase, JD(U) candidates are in 41 constituencies, BJP (29), Congress (21) and LJP nominees are in fray at 41 places.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.