Saran Lok Sabha Constituency

Current MP
Rajiv Pratap Rudy
Constituency Type
No of Assembly Constituencies
Polling Date
May 20, 2024
Voter turnout
2019 - 56.6%| 2014 - 56.1%| 2009 - 45.79%

Saran is one of the 40 Lok Sabha constituencies in Bihar. Bordered by Siwan, Vaishali, Bhojpur, Patna and Uttar Pradesh, Saran has six Assembly seats – Marhaura, Chapra, Garkha (Sc), Amnour, Parsa, Sonepur. Of the population of 39.51 lakhs, 12% belong to Scheduled Castes (SC) and 0.9% to Scheduled Tribes (ST). The district has a sex ratio of 954 and literacy of 65.96%. The main attraction of Saran is the Aami temple . Established in 2009 during the delimitation exercise, Saran voted for Rashtriya Janata Dal chief Lalu Prasad Yadav in 2009 but switched to Bharatiya Janata Party’s Rajiv Pratap Rudy in 2014 and 2019. The incumbent MP is Mr. Rudy, who is seeking re-election.


BJP won 2 times and RJD won 1 times since 2009 elections.

2019BJP 53.02%RJD 38.34%
2014BJP 41.14%RJD 36.39%
2009RJD 47.21%BJP 38.29%

Lok Sabha Elections

MahindraRausTH Elections
MahindraRausTH Elections


Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in