The Pune Racing Season is all set to start from July 26 and will go on till October 28 as per its scheduled Prospectus issued by RWITC. In all 27 race days will be held during the season.

Mr. Vivek Jain, Chairman, RWITC, while briefing the press on Wednesday afternoon said that “the advertised prize money of about Rs. 7.15 crore is on par with the last racing season and probably highest for a monsoon racing centre in India. The RWITC continues to lead the way in attracting record sponsorships and the coming season will be no exception. Contributions over 1.25 crore are again on par with last year.”

“The RWITC is making a special effort for recognition in the International racing world. We participated at the Asian Racing Conference in Turkey last week where I made a formal presentation on behalf of the Turf Authorities which helped showcase Indian racing.

Coming Sunday, The RWITC Trophy will be run at the Singapore Turf Club, as part of our objective to establish reciprocal arrangements with international racing Clubs and to introduce simulcast of international races” he stated.

He also said that “The Pune season’s only two Grade 1 races remain the Nanoli Stud Pune Derby (Oct. 14) and the McDowell Signature Indian St. Leger (Sept.30). The Derby weekend will also feature the hugely popular Oktoberfest, for the third year running, thanks to the munificence of the Indo German Chamber and its associates.”

Racing dates: July: 26, 27.

August: 4, 5, 11, 12, 15, 19, 25 & 26.

September: 1, 2, 8, 9, 15, 16, 22, 23 , 29 & 30 .

October: 7, 13, 14 , 19, 20, 27 & 28.

More In: Races | Sport