Nick Percat of Australia grabbed the pole position in the qualifying round of the Delhi Championship with MRF, a support race for the Grand Prix of India Formula One event, at the Buddh International Circuit on Friday.

Alice Powell and Jordan King of Great Britain took the second and third spots respectively.

In the other support race, JK Racing Asia Series, Malaysian Afiq Ikhwan returned the best time of 2:04.754 in the practice session.

Current championship leader Lucas Auer of Austria clocked the second best time, just 0.403 seconds behind Ikhwan.

Akhil Khushlani was the fastest of the seven Indian drivers, clocking 2:07.513 to be the eighth fastest driver.

The results: Delhi Championship with MRF (qualifying): 1. Nic Percat 2.05.406; 2. Alice Powell 2.06.114; 3. Jordan King 2.06.402.

JK Racing Asia Series (practice session): 1. A. Ikhwan Yazid (Meritus) 2:04.754; 2. L.Auer (Eurointernational) 2:05.157; 3. A. Chang (Eurasia) 2:06.277; 4. L. Camplese (Eurointernational) 2:06.277; 5. I. Ilyas (Petronas) 2:06.486.

More In: Motorsport | Sport