Sport » Cricket

Updated: July 7, 2014 01:22 IST

Vijay CC secures outright win

Special Correspondent
Comment   ·   print   ·   T  T  
Ali Murtaza. Photo: K. Pichumani
The Hindu
Ali Murtaza. Photo: K. Pichumani

Vijay CC defeated Southern Railway Institute by an innings and 90 runs, on the third day, in the first round of the TNCA first division league here on Sunday.

Pacemen L. Vignesh and Aswin Christ took three wickets each, while left-arm spinner Rahil Shah also scalped three as the Railway side was bowled out for 144 in its first innings at the IC-Guru Nanak ground.

Following on, Southern Railway Institute could manage only 153 despite a dogged 60 (149b, 6x4, 2x6) from Mitchell Anthony Mannays. Off-spinner Malolan Rangarajan claimed four, while Vignesh took three.

At the IIT-Chemplast ground, an unbeaten 27 by M. Prabhu enabled Jolly Rovers clinch the first innings lead against Aruna. Rovers, which required 230, was bowled out for 237. For Aruna, left-arm spinner Ali Murtuza’s five for 75 went in vain.

U. Sushil (91, 139b, 7x4, 1x6), Thalaivan Sargunam (48, 92b, 5x4) and W. Antony Das (58, 63b, 4x4, 3x6) enabled Globe Trotters secure the lead over IOB at the MRF-Pachaiyappa’s ground.

Grand Slam’s S. Suresh Kumar was unbeaten on 99 (204b, 6x4) when the match against Alwarpet, at the Murugappa ground, ended with the first innings undecided.

After India Pistons gained a lead of 45 at CPT-IP, AG’s Office finished at 133 for two in its second innings with half-centuries from N.S. Chaturved (61 n.o., 124b, 11x4) and M. Adityan (51, 107b, 7x4, 2x6).

M. Kamalesh (74 n.o., 175b, 11x4) and Vignesh M. Mohan (21 n.o., 129 balls) put on a determined, unbeaten 81 in 33.3 overs for the seventh wicket to help UFCC (T. Nagar) draw against YSCA.

The scores (Round one, day three): ‘A’ Zone: At IIT-Chemplast: Aruna 229 & 104 for three in 48 overs (Akshay Srinivas 50 n.o.) drew with Jolly Rovers 237 in 71 overs (K. Bharath Shankar 105, Ali Murtuza five for 75). Rovers 5, Aruna 2.

At MRF-Pachaiyappa’s: IOB 292 & 37 for no loss in 12 overs drew with Globe Trotters 413 for five in 124.5 overs (S. Anirudha 68, U. Sushil 91, Thalaivan Sargunam 48, Antony Das 58). Trotters 5, IOB 2.

At SSN: UFCC (T. Nagar) 137 & 191 for six in 95 overs (M. Kamalesh 74 n.o.) drew with Young Stars CA 306 for nine decl. YSCA 5, UFCC 2.

‘B’ Zone: At Murugappa: Alwarpet 361 drew with Grand Slam 292 for six in 107 overs (Ganga Sridhar Raju 40, Shah Rukh Khan 42, S. Suresh Kumar 99 n.o.). Alwarpet 3, Grand Slam 3.

At CPT-IP: AG’s Office 216 & 133 for two in 44 overs (N.S. Chaturved 61 n.o., M. Adhityan 51) drew with India Pistons 261 in 108.5 overs (Faizal 42, R. Vishnu 44, R. Srinivasan 44). Pistons 5, AG’s Office 2.

At IC-Guru Nanak: Vijay 387 for five decl. bt Southern Railway Institute 144 in 65.1 overs & 153 in 57 overs (Mitchell Anthony Mannays 60, Malolan Rangarajan four for 42). Vijay 8, S. Rly Inst. 0.

More In: Cricket | Sport
Please Wait while comments are loading...
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor






Recent Article in Cricket

India to tour Bangladesh in June

The Indian cricket team will tour Bangladesh next month to play a one-off Test and three One-Day Internationals. India will lea... »