Assam left-arm spinner J. Syed Mohammed’s eight for 65 restricted Kerala to 205 on the first day of a fresh round of matches in the Kalpathi-Buchi Babu all-India tournament here on Wednesday.

Syed Mohammed’s second spell read a destructive 11-1-37-6. For Kerala, Sachin Baby made 52 (106b, 5x4, 2x6).

Assam was 69 for three in reply in this Group ‘D’ match.

Karnataka raced to an imposing 496 for nine against Andhra. Opener R. Samarth whipped up 171 (200b, 18x4, 1x6) and No. 3 Ganesh Satish, 141 (175b, 9x4, 4x6).

A rampant Samarth put on 145 runs in 32.5 overs with Robin Uthappa (89, 113b, 10x4, 1x6) for the first wicket. He then raised 196 in 40.2 overs with Satish for the second to pound a hapless Andhra attack in this Group ‘A’ contest.

In-form off-spinner Malolan Rangarajan scalped four, and pace spearhead Lakshmipathy Balaji fired out three batsmen as TNCA President’s XI bowled out Baroda for 229 in a Group ‘D’ duel.

For Baroda, Nikunj Mohite produced an innings of 95 (137b, 12x4, 3x6). The dominant host was 78 for one at stumps.

Despite the lack of a sizable contribution — W. Antony Das top-scored with 42 — TNCA Districts managed to put together a fighting 280 against Haryana in a Group ‘C’ match. Leg-spinner Amit Mishra prised out four batsmen.

Haryana was 28 for one at close.

In a Group ‘B’ clash, Tripura scored a creditable 322 against Uttar Pradesh CA. Opener K.B. Pawan notched up 93 (177b, 13x4, 1x6), and there were useful half-centuries from Subhrajit Roy (50, 126b, 6x4), Avijit Dey (57, 127b, 9x4) and Koushal Acharjee (50, 75b, 5x4, 1x6).

Pawan and Subhrajit raised 124 for the second wicket in 41.5 overs.

The scores: Group ‘A’: Karnataka 496 for nine in 100 overs (R. Samarth 171, Robin Uthappa 89, Ganesh Satish 141, R. Vinay Kumar 33, B. Sudhakar four for 106) vs Andhra. Toss: Andhra.

Group ‘B’: Tripura 322 in 100 overs (K.B. Pawan 93, Subhrajit Roy 52, Avjit Dey 57, Koushal Acharjee 50, Kuldeep Yadav three for 123) vs Uttar Pradesh CA 16 without loss in three overs. Toss: Tripura.

Group ‘C’: TNCA Districts 280 in 94.2 overs (Antony Das 42, Thalaivan Sargunam 34, M. Sridhar Raj 34, J. Kousik 31, Amit Mishra four for 70) vs Haryana 28 for one in 11 overs. Toss: Districts.

Group ‘D’: Kerala 205 in 69 overs (Sachin Baby 52, Raiphi Vincent Gomez 47, Robert Fernandez 44, J. Syed Mohammed eight for 65) vs Assam 69 for three in 31 overs. Toss: Kerala.

Group ‘D’: Baroda 229 in 72.1 overs (Nikunj Mohite 95, Malolan Rangarajan four for 21, L. Balaji three for seven) vs TNCA President’s XI 78 for one in 27 overs. Toss: Baroda.

More In: Cricket | Sport