Putting an official end to the contract dispute with the players, Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) on Monday announced a full strength 16-member squad for the first Test against Bangladesh, commencing in Galle on Friday.

23 cricketers, who had initially refused to sign the contract and threatened to withdraw from the upcoming home series against Bangladesh, reached an agreement following a meeting with the chief selector Sanath Jayasuriya.

After settling the contracts crisis, the Jayasuriya-led selection panel chose the best-available squad, which includes four uncapped players.

Left-hand batsman Kithuruwan Vithanage, who scored a century in the tour game against the visiting Bangladeshis, and Kushal Janith Perera have been named in the squad. Leg-spinning all-rounder Jeevan Mendis and 19-year-old off-spinner Tharindu Kaushal, who was although named in the Test squad once before but did not play, also got a call-up. Meanwhile, Ajantha Mendis, who last played a Test in May 2011, has been recalled.

Former captain Mahela Jayawardene, who is yet to sign the new contract as he is out of the country at the moment, has been ruled out of the first Test due to a fractured finger.

Selectors dropped both Thilan Samaraweera and off-spinner Suraj Randiv because of their prolonged bad form.

The Squad: Angelo Mathews (c), Dinesh Chandimal (vc, wk), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kumar Sangakkara, Lahiru Thirimanne, Shaminda Eranga, Kushal Perera, Jeevan Mendis, Kithuruwan Vithanage, Ajantha Mendis, Nuwan Kulasekara, Chanaka Welegedera, Suranga Lakmal, Rangana Herath, Tharindu Kaushal.


SLC not to select revolting players March 3, 2013

More In: Cricket | Sport